News 25 Sep 2016

France tops MXoN qualifying as Australia takes eighth

Team France on track for three-peat at Maggiora.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Team France have topped the qualifying charts today at the 2016 Monster Energy FIM Motocross of Nations in Maggiora, Italy, while Team Australia recorded an impressive top ten placing, completing the day in eighth.

The two-time defending champions of the prestigious event were awarded the top spot following a heat race win in the MXGP category by Romain Febvre (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing), while Gautier Paulin claimed second in the Open class.

The Belgian team secured second after two strong performances from Kevin Strijbos (Team Suzuki World MXGP) and Jeremy Van Horebeek (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing), who were followed by The Netherlands, Switzerland and Italy.

Team France’s Febvre dominated the opening moto of the day clearing Italian Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) by over 18 seconds, as Stijbos settled for a comfortable third.

The top five of the MXGP category was rounded out by Great Britain’s Tommy Searle (Dixon Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Dutchman Glenn Coldenhoff (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing). Australia’s Todd Waters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki) was credited seventh.

In the MX2 category, Van Horebeek narrowly edged out Switzerland’s Jeremy Seewer for the win, with France’s Paturel Benoit (Kemea Yamaha) crossing the line in a distant third.

Spain’s Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) and Dutchman Brian Bogers (HSF Logistics Motorsport) completed the top five, while Australia’s Mitch Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) ended the 20-minute plus two laps qualifying race in 24th position on debut.

Recently crowned world champion and Open class representative of The Netherlands Jeffrey Herlings raced to victory in the final moto of the day to win by a comfortable margin, recording lap times of over a second and a half quicker than his rivals.

Frenchman Gautier Paulin secured second, only a fraction ahead of Australian motocross champion Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha). Team Switzerland’s Arnaud Tonus (Pro Circuit Monster Energy Kawasaki) narrowly missed out on the top three, however held a comfortable buffer over Great Britain’s Shaun Simpson (Wilvo Virus Performance KTM), who completed the Open class race in fifth.

A notable absentee amongst the top five was Team USA after all three riders feel victim to bad luck, resulting in them qualifying in 15th position.

Nations qualification results:
1. France
2. Belgium
3. The Netherlands
4. Switzerland
5. Italy
6. Great Britain
7. Spain
8. Australia
9. Sweden
10. New Zealand
11. Japan
12. Russia
13. Denmark
14. Austria
15. USA
16. Estonia
17. Lithuania
18. Canada
19. Czech Republic