News 29 Aug 2016

Desalle and Herlings race to Assen MXGP victories

MXGP series leader Gajser crashes out.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Clement Desalle (Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Jeffrey Herlings (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) have captured overall victories in their respective categories at round 16 of the 2016 FIM World Motocross Championship at Assen in The Netherlands.

Desalle maintained consistency throughout the day, recording an impressive 2-2 scorecard which rewarded him with his first MXGP victory since 2014.

Following a qualifying heat win, Italian Antonio Cairoli (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) entered the round as a favourite to win, although a fourth in race one denied him the chance of gaining the overall despite a moto win in race two.

A pair of third place finishes solidified the final spot on the podium for Glenn Coldenhoff (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing), positioning him seventh in the championship standings with just two rounds remaining.

Max Nagl (Rockstar Energy Factory Husqvarna Racing) and Jeremy Van Horebeek (Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing) completed the top five in fourth and fifth respectively.

Championship leader Tim Gajser (Gariboldi Honda) struggled on the Assen circuit, placing 18th in the opening moto and recording a DNF in race two following a handful of crashes that forced him to retire from the race due to a damaged motorcycle.

Jeffrey Herlings maintained his championship hopes in the MX2 category after missing several rounds due to injury.

The Dutch rider placed second in race one behind surprise winner Thomas Covington (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), while a moto win to the conclude the day awarded him the overall.

Brian Bogers (HSF Logistics Motorsports KTM) displayed an impressive performance in front of a home crowd, racing to a pair of third place finishes crediting second overall.

Jorge Prado (Red Bull KTM Factory Racing) concluded the podium in third on debut, tying on points with Max Anstie (Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing), who was followed by Denmark’s Thomas Kjer Olsen (Bodo Schmidt Husqvarna) in fifth.

Courtney Duncan (JCR Altherm Racing Yamaha) added another overall victory to her name in the WMX category, followed Nancy Van De Ven (Yamaha) and newly crowned champion Livia Lancelot (Team One One Four).