News 28 Aug 2016

MX Nationals champions crowned at Coolum

Ferris, Beaton and Evans take 2016 Australian Motocross titles.

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha), Jed Beaton (DPH Yamaha) and Mitch Evans (Yamalube Yamaha Racing) have been crowned Australian Motocross Champions today at the final round of the 2016 Motul MX Nationals at Coolum in Queensland.

Dean Ferris secured the final GoPro Superpole of the season with a time of 1m45.287s ahead of Todd Waters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki) 1m45.511s and Kade Mosig’s (NPE/Monster Energy Kawasaki) 1m47.194s.

Kirk Gibbs (KTM Factory Motocross Racing) suffered a crash midway through his hot lap, while Dylan Long (Crankt Protein Honda) was sidelined from the session due to a flat tyre.

The MX1 moto one win was awarded to CDR Yamaha’s Ferris despite being handed down a 10-second penalty for cutting a track marker.

He was able to hold off Todd Waters in the early stages of the race as the pair switched positions for the lead multiple times in the opening laps.

Kyle Peters (NPE Monster Energy Kawasaki) traded third position with Kirk Gibbs on numerous occasions, however he would maintain the advantage across the finish line to secure the spot. Kade Mosig (NPE/Monster Energy Kawasaki) concluded the top five in a distant fifth.

Moto two saw Kirk Gibbs hit the lead in the early laps although he was challenged by Dean Ferris and Todd Waters for a large portion of the race.

Ferris made the move on Gibbs, as would Waters several laps later, eventually overcoming Ferris to secure the race win and overall, positioning himself third in the series.

Ferris maintained second, clinching the championship by a slender six points over Gibbs, who concluded the day in third.

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

Image: Jeremy Hammer (Foremost Media).

The MX2 category saw DPH Yamaha’s Jed Beaton captured the opening moto victory ahead of Caleb Ward (KTM Factory Motocross Racing) and Jayden Rykers (Davey Motorsports KTM).

Beaton lead the race from start to finish, holding off early pressure from Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha) and a late charge from KTM-mounted Ward. Todd concluded the moto in fourth after recovering from a crash on the opening laps, while Kyle Webster (CRF Honda Racing) completed the top five.

Serco Yamaha’s Wilson Todd secured the moto two win after chasing down early leader and newly crowned MX2 champion Jed Beaton.

Beaton would lead the race from the beginning, however when Todd closed the gap he played it safe in order to secure to final overall of the year and his first professional championship.

Caleb Ward rounded out the top three for third overall behind Todd, placing him second in the championship ahead of the absent Nathan Crawford (Husqvarna).

In the MXD category, Cooper Pozniak (KTM) raced to a convincing victory ahead of Zak Small (Husqvarna) and Kaleb Barham (SD3 Husqvarna). The top five was rounded out by Wade Kirkland (Raceline Pirelli KTM) and Dylan Wood (Kawasaki).

Championship contenders Mitch Evans and Connor Tierney (Husqvarna) would both suffer crashes throughout the moto and were forced to work their way through the field, finishing eighth and 10th respectively.

Raceline KTM’s Wade Kirkland captured the final MXD moto victory of the year after putting on a charge halfway through the race to overcome early leader Connor Tierney.

Tierney looked strong in the opening laps, however once passed for the lead he fell into the hands of Kaleb Barham. Despite pressure from the SD3 Husqvarna rider, he maintained second position across the line as Barham settled for third.

Kirkland secured the overall ahead of Pozniak and Barham, while Mitch Evans wrapped up the championship followed by Connor Tierney and Cooper Pozniak.