News 31 Jul 2016

Gibbs, Beaton and Evans score Shepparton MX Nationals wins

New points leaders emerge in 250 classes following eighth round.

Image: MXN.

Image: MXN.

KTM Motocross Racing Team’s Kirk Gibbs, DPH Motorsport Yamaha’s Jed Beaton and Yamalube Yamaha Racing’s Mitch Evans have won their respective classes at the Shepparton round of the 2016 Motul MX Nationals.

Wilsons Coolair Motul Suzuki’s Todd Waters put on a clinic en route to the opening MX1 moto victory of the round at Shepparton, comfortably ahead of Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha) and defending champion Gibbs – both falling victim to the technical, rutty conditions during the moto.

Fourth was Kade Mosig (National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki), the final rider in the field not put a lap down, while the top 10 featured Jacob Wright (DPH Motorsport Yamaha), Jesse Dobson (KTM Motocross Racing Team), Jay Wilson (Crankt Protein Honda Racing), James Alen (KTM), Joel Green (Yamaha) and Daniel Banks (Davey Motorsports KTM).

It was looking like another moto and round win for Ferris in the second outing, however an incident on the last lap allowed Gibbs to pull through and steal victory in the final moments.

It was the surprise of the round, but an important result for red plate holder Gibbs, winning the moto ahead of Ferris, Waters after he was involved in a first turn clash, Mosig, Dobson, Banks, Green, Wright, Kurt Gow (Husqvarna) and Izak Maule (Yamaha).

Gibbs clinched the overall on countback from Waters and a frustrated Ferris, while in the championship standings it’s Gibbs with a nine-point lead ahead of Ferris, with Waters another seven back with two rounds remaining.

Image: MXN.

Image: MXN.

The opening MX2 moto of the round saw Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha) cross the finish first after fending off Nathan Crawford (Husqvarna), however the pair were struck with 15-second penalties for jumping under a yellow flag, handing Beaton the win.

He won ahead of Todd and Crawford, well ahead of Jayden Rykers (Davey Motorsports KTM), Caleb Ward (KTM Motocross Racing Team), Kale Makeham (Proformance Yamaha), Dylan Wills (Raceline Pirelli KTM), Hamish Harwood (Davey Motorsports KTM), Wade Hunter (Serco Yamaha) and Keiron Hall (Yamaha) completing the top 10.

The second of the MX2 motos was another entertaining affair as Ward and Beaton diced for the victory. A mid-race move by Ward saw him stay there and eventually cross the line over three seconds ahead of Beaton, with Crawford third after a crash during the moto. Rykers was fourth, followed by Todd, Makeham, Hall, Wills and Joel Wightman (CRF Honda Racing).

Overall the for round it was Beaton who claimed victory, ahead of Ward and Crawford. In terms of the championship, Beaton is now tied with Crawford for the lead, with Ward a further 15 points in arrears.

Victory in the opening moto of MXD this morning boosted Evans into the tied points lead with longtime leader Connor Tierney (MXR&D Husqvarna), who was ninth.

Evans converted his pole to victory in the race and finished over 40 seconds clear of Wade Kirkland (Raceline Pirelli KTM), as Zak Small (Husqvarna) completed the top three.

Positions four through 10 were filled by Cooper Pozniak (KTM), Justin Hart (Husqvarna), Luke Abela (KTM), Kaleb Barham (SD3 Husqvarna), Levi McManus (Suzuki), red plate holder Tierney and Hugh McKay (Proformance Yamaha). Evans’ Yamalube Yamaha teammate Jordan Hill was a non-finisher.

In-form Queenslander Evans made it another perfect round in MXD, dominating the second moto at Shepparton by almost a minute and taking the points lead in the process.

Evans won from title challenger Tierney, while Kirkland, Pozniak, Barham, Abela, McManus, Cory Watts (Honda), Hart and Jackson Coulson (Yamaha) filled the top 10.

Overall for the round Evans was the easy victor, joined on the podium by Kirkland and Pozniak. The series now sees Evans with the red plates, three ahead of Tierney and 12 in front of the ever-consistent Kirkland.