News 8 Jul 2016

Team Australia's 2016 ISDE teams cemented

State controlling bodies back world champion off-road squad.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Motorcycling Australia (MA) has announced the World and Junior Trophy teams that will line up in the 2016 International Six Day Enduro (ISDE), to be held in Navarra, Spain, from 11-16 October.

The reigning champion World Trophy Team will be made up of American-based Josh Strang and Daniel Milner, alongside Australian Off-Road Championship regulars Daniel Sanders and Lachlan Stanford.

The Junior Trophy Team consists of AORC newcomers Jack Simpson, Nic Tomlinson and Tom McCormack. Both Simpson and Tomlinson will debut in their first international event at the 2016 ISDE event.

Peter Doyle, acting CEO of MA, has expressed that he is pleased to see the ISDE teams heading back overseas to defend their titles and represent Australia.

“It’s great to be able to announce the 2016 Australian ISDE teams and to see the team in a position to defend their titles in Spain this year,” Doyle said. “It’s been a big effort by many individuals to be able to rally the support the teams require.

“A huge thanks to the state controlling bodies and presidents from MNSW, MQ, MWA, MSA, MANT and MTAS for their support. Without their backing being able to get the team on the start-line would have been very difficult.

“Fantastic to see a majority of the states coming together to support the current world champions. On behalf of all of Motorcycling Australia I would like to wish the whole team luck and we look forward to following their successes once again.”

It was previously announced that the defending world champion Yamaha bLU cRU-supported Women’s team will feature Tayla Jones, Jemma Wilson and Jessica Gardiner.