News 30 May 2016

Gajser and Herlings sweep Spanish MXGP motos

Lawrence rebounds for fifth in EMX250 on Sunday.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Honda Gariboldi’s Tim Gajser has won the Spanish MXGP World Championship round at Talavera de la Reina, building a 24-point lead in the championship following the opening nine rounds.

Gajser, the reigning MX2 title holder and MXGP rookie, won both premier class motos in Spain on Sunday, winning the overall ahead of Rockstar Energy Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Max Nagl and Team HRC’s Gautier Paulin.

Monster Energy Yamaha Factory Racing’s Romain Febvre ended the round fifth overall behind Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Clement Desalle. Febvre put in a gritty performance after sustaining a shoulder injury on Saturday.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Antonio Cairoli also had a rough weekend. The Italian only finished seventh after crashing in both races, but on a positive note he set the Tag Heuer Fastest Lap, which means he was the fastest guy around Talavera.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jeffrey Herlings made a solid statement with his dominance on the clay of Talavera, topping the podium over Kemea Yamaha Official MX Team’s Benoit Paturel and Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Pauls Jonass.

In EMX250 Bodo Schmidt Motorsports Thomas Kjer Olsen extended his title lead with another victory, while Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Hunter Lawrence came from well outside of the top 15 to finish fifth. He was 11th overall, retaining second in the standings.