News 29 May 2016

Racefeed: 2016 MX Nationals Rd5 Wanneroo

Post-race updates direct from the fifth round all day long.

Follow all the action direct from Wanneroo’s fifth round of the 2016 Motul MX Nationals. will update this feature directly following each race as they happen throughout the round.

Image: Jordan Deckert.

Image: Jordan Deckert.

When the opening practice/qualifying session concluded in MX2, it was Western Australian Jayden Rykers who rode his Davey Motorsports KTM 250 SX to the top spot on the timesheets, his 1m44.008s laptime three tenths faster than Saturday pace-setter Nathan Crawford (Husqvarna) and another local in Kyle Webster (CRF Honda Racing). Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha) and red plate holder Jed Beaton (DPH Motorsport Yamaha) filled the top five, with Caleb Ward (KTM Motocross Racing Team) sixth. When the MX1 session concluded Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) was fastest at 1m42.709s, half a second ahead of Dean Ferris (CDR Yamaha), while Todd Waters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki), Matt Moss (National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team) and Jesse Dobson (KTM Motocross Racing Team) were the top five. Following Super Pole it was Ferris who emerged quickest with a flying 1m42.344s, his second in a row, over Gibbs, Waters, Dobson and Moss.

Motul MX2 Moto 1:
The first MX2 moto of the day was all about the local sand specialists as Kyle Webster (CRF Honda Racing) started out front and remained there for the 20-minute duration, fending off a challenge from pole-setter Jayden Rykers (Davey Motorsports KTM), while last week’s winner Caleb Ward (KTM Motocross Racing Team) was third. Fourth was Nathan Crawford (Husqvarna) after he got the better of Wilson Todd (Serco Yamaha), while points leader Jed Beaton (DPH Motorsport Yamaha), Dean Porter (KTM), Jake Moss (National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team), Wade Hunter (Serco Yamaha) and Dylan Wills (Raceline Pirelli KTM) completed the top 10.

Thor MX1 Moto 1:
Dean Ferris captured the opening MX1 moto victory of the round, stretching a sizable advantage until he clashed with lapped rider and went down on the final lap. He remounted however and was able the keep reigning champion Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) at bay across the line in a thrilling finish. Rounding out the rostrum was Matt Moss (National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team), comfortably ahead of Todd Waters (Wilson Coolair Motul Suzuki), while Dylan Long (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) had a solid ride for fifth. Sixth was also strong for Jesse Dobson (KTM Motocross Racing Team), international Jamie Law (KTM) seventh, Jay Wilson (Crankt Protein Honda Racing) eighth, Kade Mosig (National Pump Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team) and Jacob Wright (DPH Motorsport Yamaha).

Motul MX2 Moto 2:
The second MX2 moto saw Ward sprint out front early on and that’s where he stayed, eventually finishing six seconds ahead of Crawford in a consistent effort, while opening race standouts Rykers and Webster were in positions three and four. There was three Western Australians in a row as Porter improved for fifth this time out, while Hunter, Beaton, Wills, Harwood and Todd were the top 10 finishers. They will do it all over again with a third moto later on this afternoon, deciding the overall results for the weekend.

Thor MX1 Moto 2:
Returning MXGP racers Ferris and Waters went 1-2 in the second MX1 moto this afternoon. It’s been a perfect day so far for Ferris in the sands of Wanneroo, finishing 12 seconds ahead of Waters, who is riding through the pain of a crash earlier today in qualifying. Behind them was Gibbs, the red plate wearing just two seconds back of Waters, while Moss had another credible result in fourth and one place ahead of Kawasaki teammate Mosig. Once again in sixth was Dobson, over Law, Wilson and Wright for position.

Motul MX2 Moto 3:
An epic battle ensued in the final MX2 moto of the round as Crawford overcame title rival Beaton to clinch the race victory, resulting in the round win and championship red plates. It was a pivotal day for FC 250-mounted Crawford, topping moto three ahead of Beaton and Rykers, who completed his positive round with a third. Directly following him in fourth was Ward, in turn ahead of Porter, as Todd, Webster – who rebounded from an early crash – Harwood, Wills and Joel Wightman (CRF Honda Racing) were the top 10. For the round Crawford got the victory, ahead of Ward and Rykers. Championship-wise it’s now Crawford at the top of the charts, 13 ahead of Beaton, with Ward another eight points behind in third.

Thor MX1 Moto 3:
Drama packed the third MX1 moto of the weekend as opening races winner Ferris crashed heavily on lap one, attended to by RACESAFE and being forced out of the race. That left Gibbs to cruise away out front in rough, difficult conditions, to secure the round win and remain the points leader entering the midway break of the 2016 season. Behind him was Mosig, who overcame Dobson for position in the latter stages of the race, while Moss actually crossed the line second, but was penalised 20 seconds and demoted to fourth. Waters made his way back from an early crash to fifth, the top 10 rounded out by Law, Wilson, Long, Mitch Taylor (Suzuki) and Michael Mahon (Yamaha). Overall Gibbs won ahead of Moss, while Waters salvaged third. The championship now sees Gibbs extend to a 17-point buffer over Waters and Ferris a further 10 points in arrears.