News 8 Mar 2016

Ferris flies to Conondale Cup victory in Queensland

Yamaha riders sweep high profile pre-season event.

Image: TCPhotographics.

Image: TCPhotographics.

It was a Yamaha sweep of the 2016 KTM Conondale Cup with CDR Yamaha’s Dean Ferris and Serco Yamaha’s Wade Hunter reigning supreme at the picturesque Queensland circuit.

Premier class contender Ferris put together a flawless performance on the day, capturing both MX1 moto victories aboard his factory YZ450F. Behind Ferris is was NPE Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Kade Mosig and Matt Moss, rounding out the podium with 2-2 and 3-4 moto scores respectively.

Finishing fourth was 2015 Australian Supercross Champion Dan Reardon in fourth aboard his CDR Yamaha, followed by former MXGP regular Todd Waters in fifth on his Factory Suzuki MX1 Racing Team RM-Z450.

In the Feature race it was Ferris who once again came out on top, the ex-MXGP rider edging out the Kawasaki duo of Mosig and Moss again, with Waters in fourth place followed by reigning MX Nationals MX1 champion Kirk Gibbs in fifth.

In the MX2 class it was Hunter, Serco Yamaha’s last-minute addition to the 2016 squad, who took top honours thanks to his strong 3-3-1 moto scorecard. The Queenslander was joined on the podium by NPE Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Jake Moss with a 1-4-2 moto score and KTM Motocross Factory Racing Team’s Caleb Ward who took home 2-1-4 moto finishes.

Click here for detailed results