News 1 Nov 2015

Australia's Moore crowned X-Fighters champion

Abu Dhabi final round podium swept by Australian trio.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Australia’s Clinton Moore was crowned the winner of the 2015 Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour in Abu Dhabi on Friday after winning the finale, capping a sensational season in the world’s most prestigious freestyle motocross tour with three wins to finish just ahead of Thomas Pagès.

The Australian kept his nerves in the winner takes all showdown against 2013 champion Thomas Pagès, beating the Frenchman in their head-to-head battle in the quarter-finals on Abu Dhabi’s famous Corniche waterfront just off the turquoise waters of the Arabian Gulf.

Hungry for the win even though he had already clinched the World Tour title, Moore then went on to defeat Maikel Melero of Spain in the semi-finals and Australia’s Rob Adelberg in the final. Josh Sheehan completed an all-Australian sweep on the podium by taking third.

With his victory amid the bright lights of Abu Dhabi’s glittering skyline on a warm October evening, Moore finished the season with 380 points and wins in three stops – including triumphs in Mexico City and Athens.

Pagès, who pushed the sport to new heights with his innovations, took first place in Madrid and Pretoria and ended up second overall with 305 points after taking 8th in Abu Dhabi while Adelberg climbed to third overall, adding a new Cordova Transfer Flip to his arsenal.

Pagès had to fight from behind after two crashes in Qualifying and came out on top in Round 1 with a flawless run to the cheers of the enthusiastic crowd to earn the right to square off against Moore in the Quarter Finals. Against Moore, Pagès crash-landed on the Alley-Oop Flair, destroying his dream of becoming only the second rider to win the World Tour twice.

2015 Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour
Round five – Abu Dhabi

Round results:
1. Clinton Moore (AUS)
2. Rob Adelberg (AUS)
3. Josh Sheehan (AUS)
4. Maikel Melero
5. Rémi Bizouard
6. Dany Torres
7. Taka Higashino
8. Tom Pagès
9. Javier Villegas
10. Luc Ackermann

Championship standings:
1. Clinton Moore (AUS)
2. Thomas Pagès
3. Rob Adelberg (AUS)
4. Josh Sheehan (AUS)
5. Levi Sherwood
6. David Rinaldo
7. Dany Torres
8. Rémi Bizouard
9. Taka Highashino
10. Maikel Melero