News 25 Oct 2015

Milner makes it four successive A4DE crowns

Active8 Yamaha's Ralston tops fourth day's final moto.

Image: John Hamilton (Mad Dog Images).

Image: John Hamilton (Mad Dog Images).

CDR Yamaha’s Daniel Milner has written himself into the record books by taking out his fourth Australian Four Day Enduro (A4DE) title on the trot at Blackwood Park in Penguin on Saturday.

After leading from start to finish all week, the 24-year-old secured the victory with a second placing in the final E2 class moto behind Active8 Yamaha’s Beau Ralston on day four, topping off a typically polished A4DE campaign.

Milner’s fourth A4DE title sees him join Stefan Merriman as the second most successful rider in the event’s history behind six-time winner Shane Watts.

Milner (also E2 class winner) finished a minute and 27 seconds ahead of KTM Enduro Racing Team’s Matthew Phillips in the Outright standings, with Phillips’ delighting his home fans in Tasmania by taking out the E3 class.

KTM Enduro Racing Team’s Daniel Sanders – who won a thrilling E3 class moto – completed the Outright podium, while teammate Toby Price and Active8 Yamaha’s Josh Green rounded out the top five. Green also claimed his first Four Day E1 class title to follow on from his 2015 Australian Off-Road Championship title in the same class.

As expected, each of Tayla Jones (Women’s), Damian Smith (Veterans) and David Fleming (Masters) maintained the lead they carried into the last day to take out their respective classes. Yamaha Racing’s Jones put an exclamation mark on her first A4DE title by winning the final moto by 14 seconds over Tasmanian Sophie Coldicutt.

Both Smith and Fleming had their classifications all but wrapped up heading into the final day, but completed the job in fine style with resounding wins in the final motos for their respective classes. In a remarkable display of longevity, both have now moved into double digits in terms of Australian Four Day Enduro class titles.

In the Trophy Team competitions, the Victorian team of Milson, Sanders, Peter Boyle, Chris Davey, Riley Graham and Tom Mason ended New South Wales’ five year stranglehold on the Senior Trophy, while Tasmania led by local hero Phillips recorded the first Junior Trophy Team win in the state’s history.

New South Wales made the most of a time penalty suffered by day three leaders Queensland early on the final day trail ride to take out the Women’s Team Trophy.

2015 Australian Four Day Enduro
Wynyard, Tasmania

Outright race results:
1. Daniel Milner (E2)
2. Matt Phillips (E3)
3. Daniel Sanders (E3)
4. Toby Price (E3)
5. Josh Green (E1)
6. Chris Hollis (E2)
7. Lachlan Stanford (E2)
8. Tye Simmonds (E1)
9. Glenn Kearney (E3)
10. Peter Boyle (E2)

Click here for detailed results