News 18 Oct 2015

Roczen claims Monter Energy Cup victory

Reed credited 10th overall in Yamaha racing return.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

RCH/Soaring Eagle/Jimmy John’s/Factory Suzuki’s Ken Roczen won the first Monster Energy Cup of his career and the $100,000 prize tonight at Sam Boyd Stadium.

Rockstar Energy/Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Jason Anderson won the Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event 1 of the Monster Energy Cup Class.

Team Honda HRC’s Trey Canard moved into the lead on the opening lap as Roczen pulled into second place with Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey in third place.

While leading, Canard crashed, allowing Roczen to assume the lead. Dungey took over second-place and moved into third place. On lap nine Roczen went through the Joker Lane and Anderson moved into the lead.

Anderson did cross the finish line in first place, but was penalised for not taking the Joker Lane. Roczen won the race, with Dungey in second place and BTO Sports KTM’s Davi Millsaps, the reigning Monster Energy Cup Champion, in third place.

Anderson won the Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event 2, but’s Justin Barcia quickly moved into the lead on the opening lap.

On lap one Anderson passed Barcia for the lead on the AMSOIL Arch, and Millsaps passed Dungey on the same lap for third place.

Roczen then passed Millsaps on lap three for third place but was passed by Canard one lap later. Canard did not stop, passing Roczen for second place. Anderson won the race with Canard in second and Barcia in third place.

Anderson won his third Toyota Holeshot Award in Main Event 3 as Roczen and Dungey trailed in second and third respectively. On the opening lap Roczen moved into the lead and shortly after Dungey passed Anderson for second place.

Roczen held on for his second main event win of the night and won his first-ever Monster Energy Cup Championship with 1-4-1 finishes. Dungey finished second and third overall with 2-5-2 finishes. Anderson finished third with 6-1-3 finishes.

By winning all three Toyota Holeshot Award, Anderson received a brand-new Toyota Tundra.

In his first Monster Energy Cup since 2013, Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart withdrew from racing after the first main event. He crashed early and opted out for the remainder of the evening.

Chad Reed’s return to Yamaha was a quiet one at the Monster Energy Cup, finishing 10th overall with ninth in the opening main, 16th in the second and eighth in the third and final outing.

2015 Monster Energy Cup
Las Vegas, Nevada

Overall Results
1. Ken Roczen (1-4-1)
2. Ryan Dungey (2-5-2)
3. Jason Anderson (6-1-3)
4. Justin Barcia (5-3-4)
5. Davi Millsaps (3-6-6)
6. Trey Canard (10-2-14)
7. Justin Brayton (11-7-12)
8. Blake Baggett (4-9-18)
9. Christian Craig (14-14-5)
10. Chad Reed (9-16-8)