News 25 Sep 2015

Team Motul Suzuki to cease at the end of 2015 season

Suzuki closing Australian motocross and supercross team.

Image: Adam Spence.

Image: Adam Spence.

Suzuki Australia has made the shock announcement that it will close the factory Team Motul Suzuki operation at the close of the 2015 Australian Supercross Championship season.

A statement from the company said that a strategic direction for the brand is to increase its focus on customer orientated marketing programs across the breadth of its motorcycle and ATV product range.

Operated by Jay Foreman Racing, Team Motul Suzuki has been a mainstay in Australian motocross and supercross for the past two decades, winning four motocross and six supercross titles with the likes of Matt Moss, Chad Reed, Daryl Hurley and the late Paul Broomfield.

“Suzuki is not stepping away from off-road racing all together,” national marketing manager Lewis Croft said. “On the contrary this decision will allow us to initiate new marketing programs which will see an increase in the number of RM-Z motorcycles in competition, thus ensuring the brand awareness of RM-Z motorcycles remains foremost in the mind of the consumer.

“Suzuki will compete in the 2015 Australian Supercross Championship as originally planned; the team is a very professional and motivated group of people and I am sure they will continue to do everything possible to finish the season on a high note.

“Defending champion Matt Moss and teammate Kale Makeham are prepared to fight for the championship. This was not an easy decision to make, but one necessary to move forward with our strategic direction for the company. I would like to take the opportunity to thank all the people who have been involved in the project over the years.”

The decision will effectively end Jay Foreman Racing’s involvement in the sport as a factory racing team at the end of this year, however the Newcastle-based business intends to continue and expand its workshop customer suspension business.

Moss confirmed with this afternoon following Suzuki Australia’s announcement that he’s already signed a contract with a team – yet to be confirmed – elsewhere for the 2016 season.

Suzuki’s motocross team closure comes two years after it exited the Australian Superbike Championship at the end of 2013, coming off two-straight years of winning the title with Josh Waters (2012) and Wayne Maxwell (2013).