News 30 Aug 2015

Coolum sweep secures Wilson MX2 championship

JCR Yamaha rider unstoppable as MX Nationals series concludes.

Image: Simon Makker (Makkreative).

Image: Simon Makker (Makkreative).

JCR Yamaha’s Jay Wilson dominated the final round of the 2015 MX Nationals MX2 Championship at Coolum today, taking a 1-1 result to clinch the crown.

A vital opening moto MX2 victory set red plate holder Wilson up for his first national title this afternoon after sprinting away from the field over the 30-minute duration.

Wilson increased his advantage to 24 points with just one moto remaining for the season, holding reigning champion Luke Clout (Serco Yamaha) at bay by near five seconds crossing the line.

In third was Nathan Crawford (Husqvarna) ahead of Caleb Ward (KTM), while Jed Beaton (Serco Yamaha) had a consistent ride for fifth.

Western Australian Dean Porter (KTM) impressed in sixth, while Geran Stapleton (Wilson MX Penrite Honda), Takeshi Katsuya (Sony Action Cam Kawasaki) and Alex Morris (Proformance Kawasaki) completed the top 10.

Front-running KTM privateer Dylan Wills exited under the observation of RACESAFE after leading early, and it was also disappointment for Kyle Webster (SFC Racing Yamaha) who was forced out with an empty fuel tank in the closing moments.

Wilson put an exclamation mark on his incredible MX2 title win in moto two this afternoon, claiming the title via his second moto victory of the round – earning his second-career overall on consecutive weekends in the process.

He won the moto by near nine seconds over Crawford and Beaton, who capped his year off with a strong performance. Ward was fourth in the moto for the second time today, as Wade Hunter (Yamaha) rebounded in moto two for fifth.

Positions six to 10 were made up of Stapleton, Porter, Ricky Latimer (Yamaha), Morris and Tomas Ravenhorst (Yamaha). Meanwhile Clout put up a strong fight to lead laps, the end result in the year’s final moto was 13th.

Overall it was Wilson the dominant winner from rookie duo Crawford and Beaton, while in the championship Wilson wound up with a 41-point advantage over Clout and Katsuya, who was 10th overall today.

2015 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship
Round 10 – Coolum, QLD

MX2 overall results:
1. Jay Wilson 70
2. Nathan Crawford 62
3. Jed Beaton 56
4. Caleb Ward 56
5. Luke Clout 50
6. Dean Porter 49
7. Geran Stapleton 48
8. Alex Morris 43
9. Ricky Latimer 42
10. Takeshi Katsuya 41
11. Tomas Ravenhorst 39
12. Riley Graham 37
13. Wade Hunter 36
14. Brody Cassidy 30
15. Kurt Gow 29
16. Boyd Hocking 26
17. Ben Dutton 26
18. Mitch Norris 26
19. Jack Simpson 24
20. Jake Lowe 22

MX2 championship standings:
1. Jay Wilson 600
2. Luke Clout 559
3. Takeshi Katsuya 541
4. Jed Beaton 499
5. Caleb Ward 473
6. Nathan Crawford 456
7. Wade Hunter 447
8. Geran Stapleton 403
9. Dylan Wills 388
10. Jack Simpson 354
11. Riley Graham 328
12. Luke Arbon 327
13. Joel Wightman 314
14. Dean Porter 288
15. Alex Morris 242
16. Tomas Ravenhorst 240
17. Hamish Harwood 225
18. Kyle Webster 218
19. Luke Wilson 203
20. Kurt Gow 188

Click here for detailed results