News 21 Aug 2015

Fan Guide: 2015 MX Nationals Rd9 Toowoomba's extensive MX Nationals round preview.

Toowoomba will host the 2015 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, this weekend as previews the ninth stop of the season in our revamped Fan Guide.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.


The favourites:
Kirk Gibbs (MX1) – Gibbs was second overall with a 2-1 scorecard at Toowoomba two years ago when the series was last hosted at Echo Valley. On the brink of clinching the 2015 MX1 crown and now on board the 2016 KTM 450 SX-F, we’re thinking he’ll win it in style on Sunday.

Luke Clout (MX2) – There’s no doubt that being left off the Australian MXoN team has fired Clout up, to the extent that he could take control this weekend. It will be up to Wilson to respond, but there’s every chance Clout will peak over the next two weeks.

The threats:
Dan Reardon (MX1) – Reardon has been building toward and overall win all year and finally did that at Nowra last time out, so now with the pressure off we expect him to be even stronger at the final two rounds. Will it be good enough to win again? Two more overalls will do wonders for his 2016 prospects.

Jay Wilson (MX2) – Still holding onto the red plate, this title is currently Wilson’s to lose. He needs to stay on form regardless of the immense pressure he has, minimise mistakes and rise to the occasion. A good result here would set him up well for Coolum.

The darkhorses:
Luke Styke (MX1) – Styke clinched his 2013 MX2 title last time the series visited Toowoomba, winning overall via a 1-1 performance that will hold great memories for him. Like Gibbs, he’s now armed with the 2016 KTM 450 SX-F.

Dylan Wills (MX2) – There were a lot of people pumped for Wills a few weeks ago when he raced to that moto two win at round eight, so with his confidence at a high, taking home more good results will cap off his breakout year.

Rider lists

3 Adam Monea
5 Kirk Gibbs
8 Kade Mosig
10 Cody Cooper
18 Aaron Tanti
26 Luke Styke
34 Daniel Banks
43 Ross Beaton
45 Egan Mastin
46 Oliver James
65 Daniel McCoy
70 Lawson Bopping
80 Mathew McEntee
86 Daniel McEntee
96 Kale Makeham
101 Ben Townley
117 Dylan Long
122 Daniel Reardon
123 Reece Hoffman
153 Hamish Harwood
347 Scott Green
414 Jesse Dobson
834 Jeremy Booker

1 Luke Clout
6 Jay Wilson
7 Jack Simpson
O8 Peter Ferguson
11 Ricky Latimer
12 Jed Beaton
14 Geran Stapleton
15 Luke Wilson
17 Caleb Ward
23 Wade Hunter
30 Joel Wightman
34 Boyd Hocking
35 Alex Morris
52 Riley Graham
64 Dylan Wills
96 Kyle Webster
117 Kurt Gow
127 Dylan Gosling
140 Kayne Duncanson
143 Brandon Stewart
188 Tomas Ravenhorst
199 Nathan Crawford
302 Kye Wilkinson
430 Dean Porter
432 James Jafer
888 Takeshi Katsuya
953 Matt Ryan

J05 Jesse Madden
6 Wyatt Fogarty
7 Connor Tierney
16 Kaleb Barham
17 Bailey Coxon
20 Lachlan Davis
32 Travis Silk
36 Jayden Rykers
39 Brad Polsoni
41 Wilson Todd
43 Mitchell Evans
47 Toby Stevens
48 Ryan Eden
49 Brodie Ravenhorst
51 Zak Small
66 Ryan Shadbolt
88 Jordan Hill
94 Levi McManus
139 Lawson Preston
168 Zhane Dunlop
188 Trent Wheatley
198 Luke Abela
233 Blake Parker
306 Geoffrey Chalmers
500 Jimmy Griffin
602 Lochie Latimer
793 Alex Redgwell
887 Billy Harth

Rising Star Rookies:
2 Jackson Davison
J02 Jai Quinlan
4 Reece Rayner
F11 Chelsea Carter
14 Brock Healey
21 Jackson Flaherty
J22 Jesse Bishop
26 Luke Walmsley
27 Riley Dukes
40 Mitchell Dark
46 Hunter Lawrence
48 Chandler Burns
69R Chris Smith
72 Hugh McKay
89 Mitch Johnstone
C99 Connor Lister
153 Korey McMahon
217 Cooper Pozniak
220 Dylan Marchand
286 Drew Cigliano
288 Michael Driscoll
345 Jack Kukas
353 Cody McMahon
409 Mace Taylor
688 Jake Williams
716 Isaac Ferguson
738 Wade Kirkland

Circuit location

Echo Valley
Nelson and/or Ramsay Street
Toowoomba, QLD 4350

Event entry

Adults $30.00
Kids (5-15) $20.00
Kids (under five) free
Family (two adults, two kids 5-15) $70.00

Event schedule

8:30am Motul MX2 practice/qualifying
9:00am Monster Energy MX1 practice/qualifying
9:30am GoPro MX1 Super Pole
9:40am Pirelli MXD practice/qualifying
10:05am Rising Star Rookies practice/qualifying
10:20am Official opening
10:40am Motul MX2 moto one
11:25am Monster Energy MX1 moto one
12:10pm Pirelli MXD moto one
12:35pm Lunch
1:25pm Rising Star Rookies moto one
1:55pm Motul MX2 moto two
2:35pm Monster Energy MX1 moto two
3:20pm Pirelli MXD moto two
3:55pm Rising Star Rookies moto two

Live streaming:

Live streaming via series partner NRGTV will be available to view on Sunday via to compliment our website and social media coverage at each and every round of the 2015 season.

Event program:

Note: Alternatively for highly-optimised smart device usage, Apple users can download and save now by clicking this link to the App Store. Android users can download and save by clicking this link to Google Play.

2015 series calendar

Rd1 – 29 March – Horsham, VIC
Rd2 – 12 April – Appin, NSW
Rd3 – 26 April – Broadford, VIC
Rd4 – 17 May – Murray Bridge, SA
Rd5- 31 May – Coolum, QLD
Rd6 – 5 July – Raymond Terrace, NSW
Rd7 – 19 July – Shepparton, VIC
Rd8 – 2 August – Nowra, NSW
Rd9 – 23 August – Toowoomba, QLD
Rd10 – 30 August – Coolum, QLD social media