News 24 Jul 2015

Pace-setter Price leads AORC into Kyogle rounds

Penultimate stop of the season scheduled for this weekend.

Image: John Pinnell (KTM).

Image: John Pinnell.

The 2015 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) reaches a critical juncture in the context of the series when it heads to Kyogle, New South Wales this weekend.

The race to the top of the overall season podium remains up for grabs in all but one class, with a number of riders having the opportunity to seal their respective class victories in rounds nine and 10.

On the back of securing a permanent KTM Red Bull Rally Factory Racing Team ride for the next two seasons, KTM Off-Road Racing Team’s Toby Price will be especially determined to make sure his farewell to the Australian Off-Road Championship scene is a successful one.

The four-time champion is the runaway leader in both the overall and E3 class standings, and two victories in rounds nine and 10 this weekend in Kyogle will all but engrave his name on yet another AORC champion’s trophy.

However, he won’t have it all his own way, with the man primed to take over Price’s mantle in the KTM Off-Road Racing Team stable Daniel Sanders snapping at his heals in the E3 class. Price leads the class on 197 points, with Sanders on 177 and veteran Husqvarna Off-Road Team’s Glenn Kearney on 160.

The E2 class is also proving to be hotly contested, with Active8 Yamaha’s Beau Ralston (170 points) holding out Husqvarna Enduro Racing Team’s Lachlan Stanford (156). KTM Off-Road Racing Team’s Tye Simmonds (151) and CDR Yamaha’s Chris Hollis (139) are also expected to make a frantic dash to the line and put pressure on the top two in the remaining rounds.

The E1 class is being dominated by Active8 Yamaha’s Josh Green (also second in the overall standings), who has gone through the season undefeated in the class to record 200 points. Tom Kite (Honda) and Riley Graham (KTM) round out the podium in the E1 class.

The 19 and Under class is a four-way log jam at the top of the standings, with Yamaha rider Peter Daniel Allen (146), Kawasaki KX Junior Squad’s Lyndon Snodgrass (145), Bolton’s KTM rider Tom Mason (144) and Suzuki’s Wil Ruprecht (130) all in contention at the pointy-end of the season.

Much like Toby Price and Josh Green in their respective classes, Yamaha Racing’s Tayla Jones (200) will go a long way to claiming the Women’s class championship if she can secure another two wins this weekend.

Jones currently leads fellow Yamaha duo Jemma Wilson (158) and Emelie Karlsson (146), while Sherco Ballards Motorex Off-Road rider Jess Gardiner (132) sits in fourth place after missing the Aratula round last month courtesy of a broken wrist.