News 19 Jul 2015

Race Feed: 2015 MX Nationals Rd7 Shepparton

A moto-by-moto account from Shepparton's seventh round.

Race Feed will compliment our Livestream posts in 2015, for those who can’t follow it throughout the day. All you have to do is refresh this page as the MX1, MX2 and MXD motos pass by. This feature depends on the availability of internet coverage at the circuit.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Motul MX2 qualifying:
New red plate holder Jay Wilson topped MX2 qualifying this morning at Shepparton, the JCR Yamaha rider leading a YZ250F 1-2-3 on the results sheets. In second however was Queensland privateer Wade Hunter, who slotted in ahead of Serco Yamaha’s reigning champion Luke Clout. Position four was Nathan Crawford ahead of fellow Husqvarna rider Luke Arbon, while Takeshi Katsuya, Caleb Ward, local favourite Matt Ryan, Riley Graham and Dylan Wills completed the top 10.

Monster Energy MX1 qualifying:
Matt Moss topped MX1 qualifying ahead of Lawson Bopping, Jesse Dobson, Kirk Gibbs and Kade Mosig, however when Super Pole commenced a reported incident resulted in Moss being attended to by RACESAFE. Filling positions six through 10 outside of the Super Pole points was Dan Reardon in sixth, followed by Adam Monea, Dylan Long, Cody Cooper and Luke Styke, who is yet to make the shootout in his rookie season but will be battling up front come the motos later today.

Pirelli MXD qualifying:
The MXD pole position went to Jayden Rykers as he out-paced series leader Wilson Todd and Mitch Evans, the GYTR Yamaha pairing completing the top three. Fourth was Husqvarna-mounted title threat Connor Tierney, while Lochie Latimer, Lachlan Davis, Toby Stevens, Bailey Coxon, Blake Parker and Jesse Madden rounded out the top 10.

Motul MX2 moto one:
The early stages of moto one were led by championship leader Jay Wilson, before a charging Taka Katsuya came from behind to take over at the front and that’s where he would remain for his first victory of the season. Katsuya was chased down by the in-form Caleb Ward until he went down soon after, remounting to finish second over an impressive ride from Nathan Crawford. Crawford went down in turn one but blasted his way through the field, while Wilson dropped to fourth and Dylan Wills was a solid fifth. The Serco Yamahas of Jed Beaton and Luke Clout – another caught up in the opening lap melee – were sixth and seventh, while Luke Arbon, Riley Graham and Wade Hunter filled the top 10 placings.

Monster Energy MX1 moto one:
CDR Yamaha’s Kade Mosig came out on top in an entertaining opening MX1 moto of the round, winning ahead of Luke Styke and his KTM teammate Kirk Gibbs in a special white/blue retro livery for this weekend, while Lawson Bopping was fourth after battling for the lead during the moto and Jesse Dobson in fifth. Sixth was Adam Monea, followed by lone Penrite Honda Cody Cooper, Dylan Long, early leader Dan Reardon and Kale Makeham rounding out the top 10. His Team Motul Suzuki teammate Matt Moss was sidelined following his Super Pole collision – stay tuned for further information when we have it.

Pirelli MXD moto one:
In the opening MXD moto of the weekend it was Jayden Rykers who was able to convert his pole position to the race victory, fending off Mitch Evans in another strong showing, as Connor Tierney and Bailey Coxon crossed the finish in positions three and four. Fifth was current red plate holder Wilson Todd to maintain his advantage in the standings, while the top 10 was rounded out by Toby Stevens, Lochie Latimer, Jordan Hill, Kaleb Barham and Lachlan Davis.

Motul MX2 moto two:
Current series champion Luke Clout made it clear he won’t settle for second in the 2015 series, claiming the moto win after a race-long duel with red plate holder Jay Wilson. It was a tight final lap, however Clout was able to remain composed and take the chequered flag ahead of Wilson and Caleb Ward, whose consistency resulted in him picking up a fourth-straight round victory overall. Fourth was Nathan Crawford from opening moto winner Taka Katsuya, while Luke Arbon, Jed Beaton, Dylan Wills, Jack Simpson and Riley Graham made up the top 10 finishers.

Monster Energy MX1 moto two:
Moto two of the premier MX1 ranks was another drawn-out battle for supremacy, as NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki rider Adam Monea fought hard to take victory despite a small fall, leading home CDR Yamaha duo Dan Reardon and initial race leader Kade Mosig, who claimed the overall round win as a result. Behind them, series leader Kirk Gibbs worked his way to fourth from the mid-pack in another strong performance, then Jesse Dobson was fourth and positions 6-10 were filled by Luke Styke, Dylan Long, Lawson Bopping, Cody Cooper and Ross Beaton.

Pirelli MXD moto two:
After a breakthrough win earlier in the day, Jayden Rykers made it back-to-back moto victories in a perfect performance at Shepparton for the overall. Rykers was able to overcome championship leader Wilson Todd in the second moto for his second win of the day, while Mitch Evans was once again consistent to complete the podium placings. Fourth was Connor Tierney and fifth Lachlan Davis, with the top 10 featuring Zak Small, Blake Parker, Jesse Madden, Bailey Coxon and Jonte Reynders. For the round it was Rykers on top over Evans and Todd, who now has a 10-point lead in the standings.

Click here for detailed results