News 6 Jul 2015

Price scorches to fifth Penrite Hattah Desert Race victory

AORC regulars star in gruelling annual desert race.

Image:  Andrew Kenny (KTM).

Image: Andrew Kenny (KTM).

KTM Off-Road Racing Team’s Toby Price has claimed a stunning fifth-career win in the 2015 Penrite Hattah Desert Race, held in Mildura, Victoria, over the weekend.

Price rode his 500 EXC to the fastest time in Saturday’s Prologue before storming to an unchallenged victory on Sunday, claiming the win by three minutes over teammate Tye Simmonds and Active8 Yamaha’s Josh Green.

“Another win today and I’m stoked,” Price explained. “It was a good run, after winning the Prologue yesterday we started off from the front and I think that definitely helped – the dust was thicker in the first part of the race before the track chewed and exposed a little bit of moisture in the sandy parts.

“In the first couple of laps I put on a really good charge and pulled a bit of a gap and after that I settled into a comfortable pace in and felt really good. The whole team worked really well once again and gave us the equipment that we needed to get a 1-2. It’s unreal.”

Completing the top five were two more Australian Off-Road Championship regulars in 300 EXC-mounted Daniel Sanders on the third of the factory KTMs and Green’s stablemate Beau Ralston.

2015 Penrite Hattah Desert Race
Mildura, VIC

Overall results:
1. Toby Price 3h35m22.774s
2. Tye Simmonds 3h38m22.295s
3. Josh Green 3h40m23.294s
4. Daniel Sanders 3h43m54.022s
5. Beau Ralston 3h46m24.385s
6. Nathan Trigg 3h47m01.937s
7. Glenn Kearney 3h47m39.980s
8. Louis Calvin 3h49m05.107s
9. Lachlan Stanford 3h49m55.793s
10. Jarrod Bewley 3h50m50.757s