News 17 May 2015

Ward sweeps Murray Bridge for MX2 round victory

Clout maintains red plate despite qualifying injury scare.

Source: MX Nationals.

Source: MX Nationals.

KTM’s Caleb Ward made a triumphant return to the 2015 MX Nationals at Murray Bridge in South Australia today, winning his first overall of the season upon return from a knee injury.

Ward took a breakthrough win in the opening 30-minute moto, working his way past early leader Geran Stapleton in the opening laps and then running away at the front.

Second was Luke Arbon in what was also an improved performance from him this year, holding a fast-finishing Taka Katsuya at bay on the final lap, while Jay Wilson overcame a smoking YZ250F for fourth.

Stapleton eventually crossed the line fifth, while Nathan Crawford, Kyle Webster, Wade Hunter, Jed Beaton and Luke Clout rounded out the top 10. Series points leader Clout was down the order after he went down heavily in qualifying earlier today.

It was privateer standout Riley Graham who led out of the blocks in moto two and maintained that position for a number of laps, before Arbon took charge and led the mid-stages of the moto.

Arbon came under fire from moto one winner Ward, who was able to work his way to the front in the final laps for the clean-sweep and overall victory.

In the moto it was Ward the victor ahead of Arbon, Hunter, Kyle Webster, Katsuya, Dean Porter, Wilson, Graham, Clout and Stapleton.

Overall it was Ward with the sweep, from Arbon and Katsuya in yet another consistent podium finish. Clout managed to hold onto his red plate.

2015 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship
Round four – Murray Bridge, SA

MX2 overall results:
1. Caleb Ward 70
2. Luke Arbon 64
3. Takeshi Katsuya 56
4. Wade Hunter 53
5. Kyle Webster 52
6. Jay Wilson 52
7. Geran Stapleton 47
8. Dean Porter 44
9. Nathan Crawford 44
10. Luke Clout 43
11. Riley Graham 41
12. Jack Simpson 40
13. Alex Morris 33
14. Hamish Harwood 30
15. Luke Wilson 29
16. Joel Wightman 29
17. Joel Green 25
18. Mitch Norris 24
19. Dylan Leary 23
20. Dylan Wills 23

MX2 championship standings:
1. Luke Clout 243
2. Takeshi Katsuya 227
3. Jay Wilson 227
4. Jed Beaton 202
5. Wade Hunter 198
6. Luke Arbon 179
7. Geran Stapleton 157
8. Hamish Harwood 156
9. Riley Graham 154
10. Nathan Crawford 153
11. Dylan Wills 152
12. Dylan Leary 142
13. Jack Simpson 141
14. Joel Wightman 135
15. Kyle Webster 132
16. Caleb Ward 115
17. Luke Wilson 107
18. Dean Porter 106
19. Rhys Carter 93
20. Tom Jones 79

Click here for detailed results