News 29 Mar 2015

Moto one winner Hill credited Horsham MXD overall

Critical incident for Wilson causes second moto cancellation.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Yamaha rider Jordan Hill won the opening Pirelli MXD round of the 2015 MX Nationals season today at Horsham, in a weekend marred by a critical incident involving rising star Dylan Wilson during moto two.

Hill won the opening race of the year as the Under 19s class of this season debuted, taking it home from fellow Yamaha rider Wilson and KTM’s Jayden Rykers.

After claiming top qualifying position, the first MXD holeshot for 2015 also went to young gun Mitchell Evans on the GYTR Yamaha, however his glory was short-lived.

After only one lap and while in the lead, Evans was forced to exit the race, pulling into the pits nursing his wrist and recording a DNF.

Teammate Wilson Todd led the race momentarily until he too struck troubles, enabling Hill to take charge and sprint off the victory.

Race two for the MXD class got underway, however the incident of Wilson saw the second moto red-flagged, and the class did not return to the track for any further racing.

Wilson received immediate treatment from the RACESAFE Medical Team at the track and has been transported to Melbourne for further treatment. Further information will be made available as it comes to hand.

With the MXD class unable to complete moto two, round results have now been calculated based on moto one results only.

Williams Event Management will look to add an additional race to the MX Nationals program at one of the remaining nine rounds of the series.

2015 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship
Round one – Horsham, Victoria

MXD overall results:
1. Jordan Hill 35
2. Dylan Wilson 32
3. Jayden Rykers 30
4. Wilson Todd 28
5. Wayde Carter26
6. Trent Wheatley 25
7. Toby Stevens 24
8. Jonte Reynders 23
9. Bailey Coxon 22
10. Connor Tierney 21
11. Jesse Madden 20
12. Lachlan Holroyd 19
13. Ryan Shadbolt 18
14. Jamie Harvey 17
15. Zak Small 16
16. Tyler Bullen 15
17. Kaleb Barham 14
18. Levi McManus 13
19. Lachlan Davis 12
20. Travis Silk 11

Click here for detailed results