News 8 Mar 2015

Dungey and Musquin win Daytona Supercross main events

Australia's Reed takes home top five result in Florida.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Ryan Dungey, so close to winning the Daytona Supercross By Honda so many times, finally got the career-defining breakthrough victory Saturday night to extend his Monster Energy AMA Supercross lead.

Dungey came to Daytona International Speedway this year with a strong history – four podium finishes since 2010, including two runner-up efforts. After his victory, he admitted to some past frustrations about coming up short at DIS.

“Tonight was awesome,” said Red Bull KTM’s Dungey. “I had never won this race and it’s really special. We need to really enjoy these wins. To be able to finally win here … I’ve been here so many times.”

He took the lead on lap eight of the 20-lap 450SX event, with a well-timed pass of Andrew Short’s KTM. Short had ridden the holeshot to a solid lead until Dungey closed in.

Dungey finished the grueling ride 4.271 seconds ahead of GEICO Honda rider Eli Tomac, while Blake Baggett finished third in his first-career podium finish.

Dungey got his fourth win of the season – and his second-straight, after last week’s triumph in Atlanta – to further boost his quest for a second Monster Energy AMA Supercross Series championship. His first title came in 2010.

After winning his heat race, Australian Discount Tire Racing/TwoTwo Motorsports Kawasaki rider Chad Reed raced to fifth in the main event.

The 15-lap 250 SX final was won by Marvin Musquin for another Red Bull KTM double, with Justin Bogle second Jeremy Martin third. It was the third victory of the season for Musquin.

Australian privateer Taylor Potter fell short of making the main event at Daytona, finishing 13th in the last-chance qualifying race to conclude his nigh early.

2015 Monster Energy AMA Supercross
Round 10 – Daytona, Florida

450SX class main event results:
1. Ryan Dungey
2. Eli Tomac
3. Blake Baggett
4. Cole Seely
5. Chad Reed (AUS)
6. Trey Canard
7. Jason Anderson
8. Weston Peick
9. Davi Millsaps
10. Broc Tickle

450SX championship standings:
1. Ryan Dungey 224
2. Trey Canard 184
3. Eli Tomac 159
4. Ken Roczen 156
5. Chad Reed (AUS) 140
6. Jason Anderson 140
7. Cole Seely 138
8. Blake Baggett 135
9. Andrew Short 109
10. Broc Tickle 107

250SX class main event results:
1. Marvin Musquin
2. Justin Bogle
3. Jeremy Martin
4. Joey Savatgy
5. RJ Hampshire
6. Jimmy Decotis
7. Kyle Peters
8. Anthony Rodriguez
9. Mitchell Oldenburg
10. Martin Davalos

250SX championship standings:
1. Marvin Musquin 97
2. Jeremy Martin 85
3. Justin Bogle 84
4. Joey Savatgy 72
5. Martin Davalos 56
6. RJ Hampshire 54
7. Anthony Rodriguez 47
8. Vince Friese 46
9. Kyle Peters 43
10. Jimmy Decotis 42

Click here for detailed results