News 8 Jan 2015

Rider line-up confirmed for 2015 Troy Bayliss Classic

All Stars and Legends fields feature a who's who of racing.

Source: TBE.

Source: TBE.

Thirty-one motorcycle racers from nine disciplines who collectively lay claim to over 250 national championships will converge on Taree Motorcycle Track on Saturday, 17 January, for the third annual Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic.

The rider line-up, which includes competitors from Australia, America, Japan and New Zealand boasts four world champions including three-time Superbike World Champion Troy Bayliss, three-time Speedway World Champion Jason Crump, Supersport World Champions Chris Vermeulen and Freestyle Trials World Champion Jack Field.

The international contingent features three of America’s best flat-track racers including reigning AMA Pro Flat Track Grand National Champion Jared Mees, 2009 AMA Pro Overall Grand National Champion and 2011 AMA Pro Grand National Singles Champion Sammy Halbert and two-time AMA Pro Grand National Singles Champion Henry Wiles.

Japanese flat-track star Masatoshi Ohmari also returns to contest the 2015 event. The YouTube sensation said he was coming into this year’s event better prepared.

“I feel better then ever,” Ohmari said. “I have been doing a lot of riding the past year on my new RM-Z450 and plenty of sliding. I can’t wait to be back on the oil track and hear the crowd cheer for me again. My sliding has gotten better I can’t wait to show every one there.

Event organiser Troy Bayliss said the 2015 rider line-up was the most competitive yet.

“Fans can expect to see some epic racing next weekend,” Bayliss said. “This is probably the most competitive rider line-up we have had yet. To have three of America’s best flat-track racers here in Australia competing at the one event is unheard of and I can’t wait to see them racing some our best racers.

“It is also fantastic that Masatoshi is coming back. We all enjoyed watching him slide the bike last year and he had great support from the fans. I am sure he will be even more popular this year.”

Tickets to the 2015 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic are on sale now via

All Stars entry list:
Broc Parkes
Chris Hollis
Chris Vermeulen
Damian Cudlin
Dan Reardon
Henry Wiles
Jack Miller
Jack Field
Jared Mees
Jay Marmont
Joshua Hook
Luke Richard
Marty McNamara
Masatoshi Ohmori
Matt Davies
Michael Kirkness
Paul Caslick
Sammy Halbert
Troy Bayliss
Troy Herfoss
Glenn Allerton (TBC)

Legends entry list:
Anthony Gunter
Jason Crump
Jeff Leisk
Vaughan Style
Stephen Gall
Phil Lovett
Shawn Giles
Chris Watson
Peter Goddard
Kevin Horton
Damon Buckmaster