News 9 Nov 2014

Australians secure Women's ISDE title in Argentina

France claim third-consecutive World Trophy crown.

Source: ISDE.

Source: ISDE.

France are the worthy and clear winners of the World Trophy at this year’s FIM International Six Days Enduro (ISDE) in San Juan, Argentina.

Making no mistakes on day six, France secured their third consecutive victory in the ISDE, as the United States won the Junior division and Australia defended the Women’s title.

Settling for second on the day behind the United States, the French team of Marc Bourgeois, Christophe Nambotin, Pierre-Alexandre Renet, Jeremy Tarroux, Anthony Boissiere and Fabien Planet comfortably won the FIM World Trophy title.

Despite topping the final three days of competition, the United States were unable to claim their debut ISDE win and finished as runner-up. Spain delivered a consistent ride to end their week on the podium in third overall.

One of just two nations to keep all six riders in the race, Germany placed fourth while host nation Argentina were rewarded with fifth overall for their efforts in front of their home fans.

Recording their first win in the ISDE since the late Kurt Caselli led them to victory in 2006, the United States claimed an emotional victory in the FIM Junior World Trophy class.

Topping the standings by 1m42, Grant Baylor, Steward Baylor, Trevor Bollinger and Justin Jones made it a week to remember for USA in Argentina. Suffering their first defeat in four years, France placed as runner-up with Australia third. Germany and Argentina completed the top five.

Ending their week of dominance in style, the Australian trio of Jessica Gardiner, Tayla Jones and Jemma Wilson easily won the final day of racing to successfully defend their FIM Women’s World Trophy title.

Completing one of the toughest ISDE races of recent times, Canada were rewarded with the runner-up result while the United States rounded out the top three.

Taking top honours in this year’s FIM Club Team Award classification MotoClub Pavia led home Club Argentina and Los Rider Sanrafaelinos.

Topping the Enduro 1 classification for the sixth and final time, France’s Christophe Nambotin won the final day motocross from Spain’s Jaume Betriu and France’s Jeremy Tarroux. The win secured Nambotin the overall E1 victory from teammates Marc Bourgeois and Tarroux.

In the Enduro 2 class, day six marked a win for United States’ Kailub Russell, while Australia’s Matt Phillips narrowly held off France’s Pela Renet to take second. Placing third in the final motocross ensured Renet was both the overall winner of E2 and the individual classification. Russell’s victory confirmed him as runner-up in E2 with Phillips close behind in third.

Producing one of the most tightly fought battles of the day, the Enduro 3 category was won by United States’ Michael Brown from teammate Taylor Robert. Finishing day six in third, Australia’s Toby Price claimed the overall win in E3 from Spain’s Ivan Cervantes and Brown.

With the 2014 ISDE now successfully completed, the competitors can begin to look forward to the ninetieth edition in Kosice, Slovakia, which will take place from 7-12 September 2015.

2014 International Six Day Enduro
San Juan, Argentina

World Trophy overall results:
1. France
2. United States
3. Spain
4. Germany
5. Argentina
6. Australia

Junior World Trophy overall results:
1. United States
2. France
3. Australia
4. Germany
5. Argentina

Women’s World Trophy overall results:
1. Australia
2. Canada
3. United States

Click here for detailed results