News 3 Nov 2014

Provisional 2015 Australian Supercross calendar unveiled

Six-round series scheduled to take place next season.

Image: Marc Jones.

Image: Marc Jones.

Provisional dates for the 2015 Australian Supercross Championship have broken cover in Motorcycling Australia’s (MA) national competition calendar.

The series will be expanded to six rounds across five events next season, with early information indicating current promoter Full Throttle Sports will share the rights of running rounds of the series next year.

However, MA is yet to officially confirm promotion of the series for 2015, instead listing ‘Motocross Commission’ as the Promoter/Contact on the event calendar document.

Round one is due to take place at Wayville in South Australia on 3 October, before Bathurst will again feature on the calendar as round two on 10 October during the Bathurst 1000 V8 Supercars weekend – this time as a standalone single round.

Phillip Island will again remain a double-header on the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix weekend of 17-18 October, followed by an undisclosed location in New South Wales on 24 October for round five.

The sixth and final round is scheduled for Queensland on 14 November, which could potentially be another indoor event at the Brisbane Entertainment Centre if this Saturday’s final round of 2014 meets expectations. An alternate Queensland date has been listed for 21 November.

Further information is expected to be released in the coming weeks, an MA spokesperson confirmed when contacted by this afternoon.

Provisional 2015 Australian Supercross Championship calendar:
Rd1 – 3 October – Wayville, SA
Rd2 – 10 October – Bathurst, NSW
Rds 3-4 – 17-18 October – Phillip Island, VIC
Rd5 – 24 October – NSW
Rd6 – 14 November – QLD
Alternate date – 21 November – QLD

Update: Motorcycling Australia released an updated calendar during March 2015 as follows:
Rd1 – 10 October – Bathurst, NSW (FTS)
Rd2 – 17 October – Jimboomba, QLD (Scott Bannan)
Rd3 – 31 October – Wayville, SA (Mark Gilbert)
Rd4 – 21 November – Sunshine Coast, QLD (Scott Bannan)
Rd5 – 28 November – Sydney, NSW (TBA)
Rd6 – 5 December – Melbourne, VIC (FTS)