Features 21 Oct 2014

Breakdown: 2014 ASX Rds 3-4 Phillip Island

The vitals from rounds three and four of Australian Supercross.

MotoOnline.com.au breaks down the specifics from Saturday and Sunday at Phillip Island’s Penrite Australian Supercross Championship rounds.

Image: Marc Jones.

Image: Marc Jones.


Saturday main event results:
1. Matt MOSS (Team Motul Suzuki)
2. Lawson BOPPING (Team Motul Suzuki)
3. Jay MARMONT (Penrite Honda)
4. Adam MONEA (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki)
5. Kirk GIBBS (KTM Motocross Racing Team)
6. Jesse DOBSON (KTM Motocross Racing Team)
7. Sam MARTIN (Suzuki)
8. Josh CACHIA (Husqvarna Motocross Racing Team)
9. James BOOTH-ELLIOT (Suzuki)
10. Kieren TISDALE (Raceline Suzuki)
11. Justin CARAFA (Honda)
12. Keith TUCKER (Penrite Honda)
13. Jake MOSS (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki)
14. Chris CAMILLERI (Honda)
15. Kade MOSIG (DPH Motorsport Yamaha)

Race time: 15m04.943
Margin of victory: 3.783s
Laps completed: 20
Fastest lap: Lawson BOPPING 44.721s (lap seven)

Sunday main event results:
1. Matt MOSS
3. Kirk GIBBS
4. Lawson BOPPING
5. Adam MONEA
6. Jesse DOBSON
7. Kade MOSIG
8. Keith TUCKER
9. Josh CACHIA
11. Joel NEWTON
12. Justin CARAFA
14. Kieren TISDALE
15. Jake MOSS

Race time: 15m04.585
Margin of victory: 4.554s
Laps completed: 20
Fastest lap: Kade MOSIG 45.538s (lap nine)

Championship standings:
1. Matt MOSS 140
2. Lawson BOPPING 118
3. Adam MONEA 118
4. Kirk GIBBS 114
5. Jay MARMONT 104
6. Jesse DOBSON 95
7. Kade MOSIG 89
8. Josh CACHIA 88
9. Justin CARAFA 78
10. Sam MARTIN 74
11. Jake MOSS 68
12. Chris CAMILLERI 66
13. Kieren TISDALE 56
14. James BOOTH-ELLIOT 43
15. Keith TUCKER 42
16. Daniel McCOY 42
17. Joel NEWTON 36
18. Tim VARE 35

Matt Moss proved once again he is the class of the field, not only dominating on Saturday, but also winning the main event on Sunday despite not finishing either of his heat races. With that, Moss extended his lead to 22 points with just one round remaining and, barring major disaster, he’s going to be a back-to-back champion in SX as well. Bopping was phenomenally fast again and he could be hard to beat if he gets a start, while this week Marmont proved his decision to race a Penrite Honda in supercross was a wise one with dual podiums. Gibbs was also back on the podium Sunday and now expects to be there each week, which is impressive for a rider who’s noted as an outdoor rider of sorts. Monea was again strong, but lacked luck on the weekend and raced through an ankle injury, plus you can’t look past Dobson’s pair of sixth places – kid’s got skills. Also to note, Mosig didn’t have the best results on paper, but he did score the quickest lap on Sunday after going down in the first turn with Monea, Cachia and the luckless Jake Moss.

Image: Marc Jones.

Image: Marc Jones.


Saturday main event results:
1. Gavin FAITH (Penrite Honda)
2. Kyle PETERS (Wilson MX Honda)
3. Kale MAKEHAM (Tunetech Racing KTM)
4. Hayden MELLROSS (Raceline Suzuki)
5. Brenden HARRISON (Instant Security KTM)
6. Ryan MARMONT (Husqvarna Motocross Racing Team)
7. Luke ARBON (SD3 Husqvarna)
8. Geran STAPLETON (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki)
9. Dylan LONG (KTM)
10. Taylor POTTER (Boardstix Motorsport Honda)
11. Jackson RICHARDSON (Honda)
12. Jake VELLA (Yamaha)
13. Luke WILSON (Wilson MX Honda)
14. John PRUTTI (KTM)
15. Tristan DUNCAN (Honda)
16. Tristan CACHIA (Yamaha)
17. Boyd HOCKING (DPH Motorsport Yamaha)
18. Jake WILLIAMS (Wilson MX Honda)

Race time: 11m21.299
Margin of victory: 9.582s
Laps completed: 15
Fastest lap: Gavin FAITH 45.384s (lap five)

Sunday main event results:
1. Gavin FAITH
2. Taylor POTTER
3. Hayden MELLROSS
4. Kyle PETERS
5. Luke ARBON
8. Brendan HARRISON
10. Dylan LONG
11. John PRUTTI
12. Luke WILSON
14. Tristan DUNCAN
16. Boyd HOCKING

Race time: 11m09.468
Margin of victory: 8.889s
Laps completed: 15
Fastest lap: Gavin FAITH 45.029s (lap six)

Championship standings:
1. Gavin FAITH 135
2. Kyle PETERS 117
3. Brendan HARRISON 112
4. Taylor POTTER 109
5. Hayden MELLROSS 107
6. Kale MAKEHAM 104
7. Jackson RICHARDSON 96
8. Luke ARBON 95
9. Ryan MARMONT 93
10. Luke WILSON 77
11. Geran STAPLETON 77
12. John PRUTTI 73
13. Boyd HOCKING 62
14. Tristan DUNCAN 60
15. Jake WILLIAMS 58
16. Jake VELLA 50
17. Dylan LONG 43
18. Nick SUTHERLAND 43
19. Lewis WOODS 26
20. Tristan CACHIA 15

Faith continued his unbeaten run at Phillip Island and extended his series lead to 18 points, making it three wins in a row for the 2014 season. Peters was again strong with second on Saturday and fourth on Sunday, while it was exceptional to see Makeham and Potter back on the podium. Round four also featured Mellross on the box, validating his decision to go back to the Lites for SX, and it was well deserved. What we again witnessed was a spread of true talent, which is certain to make Brisbane a must-see round of four-strokes vs two indoors.