News 14 Oct 2014

Monster Energy Cup set for Las Vegas this weekend

Barcia, Reed and Dungey preview unique $1-million race.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Image: Simon Cudby.

This Saturday night in Las Vegas under the bright lights, a selection of the world’s greatest supercross/motocross racers will converge at Sam Boyd Stadium for the Monster Energy Cup and a chance to win $1-million.

In addition to the professional Cup Class, the stars of tomorrow will be competing in the KTM Junior Supercross Challenge, Super-Mini and Amateur All-Star Classes.

In the three years of the Monster Energy Cup, there have been three different winners: Ryan Villopoto, Justin Barcia and James Stewart.

After recently signing with the JGRMX/Toyota/Yamaha team, Barcia, who won the 2012 Monster Energy Cup, will make his debut this weekend with his new team. Barcia led six laps and finished 2-1-2 in the three main events en route to winning the 2012 Monster Energy Cup. Barcia also has two Regional 250SX Class Championships.

“This is my first-ever race for the JGRMX team, and I am stoked,” said Barcia. “Not only can I become the first-ever two-time winner of the Monster Energy Cup, I can give the team its first-ever title at this race.”

Former two-time Monster Energy Supercross Champion Chad Reed’s best finish at the Monster Energy Cup was in 2012 when he finished fourth overall.

“The Monster Energy Cup comes during the off-season, so everybody is well rested and had some time off, so everybody is excited to get back to racing,” said Reed. “The format is a little different with three 10-lap main events. The focus is to win or go home.”

Like Reed, Red Bull KTM’s Ryan Dungey also brings a Monster Energy Supercross title to this year’s race. Dungey has finished in second place at the first three Monster Energy Cup races and has his sights set on his first title.

“I always look forward to going back to the Monster Energy Cup,” said Dungey. “There is always a lot going on at this race; it’s exciting for the fans and the riders. This race is going to be closer and tighter than ever.”

One of the most anticipated aspects of the Monster Energy Cup is the riders making their debut aboard their new bike, such as Dean Wilson (Red Bull KTM), Justin Brayton (BTO Sports KTM), Blake Baggett (Yoshimura Suzuki), Davi Millsaps (Monster Energy Kawasaki), Cole Seely (Honda), Jason Anderson (Husqvarna) and Martin Davalos (Husqvarna).

The 2014 Monster Energy Cup features an all-new track design inspired by five-time Monster Energy Supercross Champion Ricky Carmichael. The Carmichael-inspired track design will consist of supercross and motocross obstacles unlike any other racetrack design in the world.

The Monster Energy Cup track will include a unique split start where 11 riders from each side will blitz down a long straightway to huge 180 degree bowl turns, then converge into one lane. The Monster Energy Cup posts a $250,000 purse with the winner walking away with a $100,000 cheque and any rider that wins all three main events will take home $1-million.