Features 13 Oct 2014

Breakdown: 2014 ASX Rds 1-2 Bathurst

The vitals from rounds one and two of Australian Supercross.

MotoOnline.com.au breaks down the specifics from Friday and Saturday at Bathurst’s opening Penrite Australian Supercross Championship rounds.

Image: Marc Jones.

Image: Marc Jones.


Friday main event results:
1. Matt MOSS (Team Motul Suzuki)
2. Adam MONEA (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki)
3. Kirk GIBBS (KTM Motocross Racing Team)
4. Lawson BOPPING (Team Motul Suzuki)
5. Kade MOSIG (DPH Motorsport Yamaha)
6. Sam MARTIN (Suzuki)
7. Jake MOSS (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki)
8. Jay MARMONT (Penrite Honda)
9. Josh CACHIA (Husqvarna Motocross Racing Team)
10. Jesse DOBSON (KTM Motocross Racing Team)
11. Daniel McCOY (Honda)
12. Justin CARAFA (Honda)
13. Tim VARE (Honda)
14. Kieren TISDALE (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki)
15. Joel NEWTON
16. Chris CAMILLERI (Honda)

Race time: 16m47.237s
Margin of victory: 5.488s
Laps completed: 20
Fastest lap: Matt MOSS 49.581s (lap five)

Saturday main event results:
1. Matt MOSS
2. Adam MONEA
3. Lawson BOPPING
4. Kirk GIBBS
5. Jake MOSS
7. Jesse DOBSON
8. Kade MOSIG
9. Daniel McCOY
10. Josh CACHIA
11. Justin CARAFA
13. Kieren TISDALE
14. Tim VARE

Race time: 16:24.573
Margin of victory: 4.701s
Laps completed: 20
Fastest lap: Matt MOSS 48.221s (lap six)

Championship standings:
1. Matt MOSS 70
2. Adam MONEA 64
3. Lawson BOPPING 58
4. Kirk GIBBS 58
5. Jake MOSS 50
6. Sam MARTIN 50
7. Kade MOSIG 49
8. Jesse DOBSON 45
9. Josh CACHIA 43
10. Daniel McCOY 42
11. Jay MARMONT 42
12. Justin CARAFA 39
13. Kieren TISDALE 35
14. Tim VARE 35
15. Chris CAMILLERI 31
16. Joel NEWTON 16

Four riders stood out this weekend as a class above the rest in Matt Moss, Monea, Bopping and Gibbs. They hogged the top four spots across both nights and deservedly so. Others with speed, but affected by costly mistakes included Jake Moss and Marmont, while the likes of Mosig, Martin and Cachia were well in the podium fight at stages as well. Teenage rookie Dobson was rode above his experience on debut with KTM with solid results each night. The track was difficult to pass on, but as they say, the cream rises to the top and the four guys that landed on the podium last weekend were the best on each night. And the best thing? It could all change again in a few days time at Phillip Island – that’s how close the top guys were in raw speed.

Image: Marc Jones.

Image: Marc Jones.


Friday main event results:
1. Brenden HARRISON (Instant Security KTM)
2. Kyle PETERS (Wilson MX Honda)
3. Gavin FAITH (Penrite Honda)
4. Jackson RICHARDSON (Honda)
5. Lewis WOODS (Penrite Honda)
6. Hayden MELLROSS (Raceline Suzuki)
7. Taylor POTTER (Boardstix Motorsport Honda)
8. Ryan MARMONT (Husqvarna Motocross Racing Team)
9. Luke ARBON (SD3 Husqvarna)
10. Nick SUTHERLAND (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki)
11. Luke WILSON (Wilson MX Honda)
12. Kale MAKEHAM (Tunetech Racing KTM)
13. Geran STAPLETON (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki)
14. John PRUTTI (KTM)
15. Boyd HOCKING (DPH Motorsport Yamaha)
16. Jake VELLA (Yamaha)
17. Jake WILLIAMS (Wilson MX Honda)
18. Tristan DUNCAN (Honda)

Race time: 12m40.203s
Margin of victory: 4.191s
Laps completed: 15
Fastest lap: Gavin FAITH 50.347s (lap three)

Saturday main event results:
1. Gavin FAITH
2. Taylor POTTER
4. Brenden HARRISON
6. Kyle PETERS
7. Hayden MELLROSS
8. Luke ARBON
10. Ryan MARMONT
11. Luke WILSON
12. John PRUTTI
14. Boyd HOCKING
15. Jake VELLA
17. Tristan DUNCAN

Race time: 12m25.136s
Margin of victory: 1.595s
Laps completed: 15
Fastest lap: Gavin FAITH 48.778s (lap four)

Championship standings:
1. Gavin FAITH 65
2. Brendan HARRISON 63
3. Kyle PETERS 57
4. Taylor POTTER 56
5. Jackson RICHARDSON 54
6. Kale MAKEHAM 49
7. Hayden MELLROSS 49
8. Luke ARBON 45
9. Ryan MARMONT 44
10. Nick SUTHERLAND 43
11. Luke WILSON 40
12. John PRUTTI 36
13. Geran STAPLETON 36
14. Boyd HOCKING 33
15. Jake VELLA 31
16. Jake WILLIAMS 29
17. Tristan DUNCAN 27
18. Lewis WOODS 26

Faith was the fastest rider on track throughout the weekend, but will need to ensure he gets starts all season if he’s to fend off the Aussies. Harrison’s win was an emotional one and well deserved, again on the comeback trail, while other riders to shine included Potter, Peters and Makeham as the podium placers across the two nights. After carding a fifth on Friday, Woods’ debut came to a crushing halt with a broken leg sustained on Saturday, while fellow Victorian Dylan Long was an earlier casualty after injuring his neck in a Friday practice fall. One thing is for certain: there’s a hugely impressive spread of talent in this field and we’re in for an entertaining season ahead.