News 27 Aug 2014

Third annual Troy Bayliss Classic confirmed for January

2015 running of Motul Pirelli-backed event on track for Taree.

Source: Troy Bayliss Events.

Source: Troy Bayliss Events.

The Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic will return in 2015, the iconic event will be held at Taree Motorcycle Club on Saturday, 17 January.

The event, which is now in its third year, will see 36 Australian and international legend and all-star motorcycle racers converge on Taree to vie for the coveted crown.

Local racer Michael Kirkness won the inaugural 2013 event while three-time Superbike World Champion and event host Troy Bayliss took out this year’s title.

Bayliss, who is confirmed to defend his title, has enjoyed great success in the flat track and supermoto arenas this year, laying claim to five Australian titles.

“I guess this year has been pretty good for me as a retired bike rider,” Bayliss acknowledged. “I am looking forward to coming back and defending my title and also improving the Troy Bayliss Classic event. We already have some great competitors confirmed who we will announce over the coming months.”

Since its inception the Troy Bayliss Classic has attracted championship-winning racers from across the globe including countries such as France, America, Japan and New Zealand.

The 2014 rider line-up included six world champions as well as current home grown international talent such as Jack Miller, Ant West and Darcy Ward who are all enjoying success on the international stage.

With further improvements to facilities confirmed ahead of next year’s event, including even more spectator mounds, the 2015 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic is an event not to be missed.

Support races and off track entertainment will be announced over the coming months along with the international rider line-up.

Tickets to the 2015 Motul Pirelli Troy Bayliss Classic will go on sale at 12:00pm on Friday, 29 August via