News 7 Aug 2014

Mellross and McEntee top Raymond Terrace North Cups

Privateer-based series rolls on in New South Wales.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

The second round of the 2014 North Cup fired up at Raymond Terrace over the weekend, showcasing the effort put in by the privateer riders, across both the MX1 and MX2 classes.

After a successful first round at Conondale, the much-anticipated second installment of the cup fired into action, with many privateers recording encouraging results.

For Suzuki-assisted Hayden Mellross, round two of the cup was one to remember. Mellross took maximum points with a sixth, 11th and seventh place finish in the Monster MX1 class to hand him a seventh overall for the round and another Motul MX1 North Cup win under his belt.

Mellross also maintained his position in the overall championship standings and currently holds eighth position.

Fellow privateer Joel Milesevic took second place behind Mellross, followed by Darcy Jones, Daniel McEntee and Scott Green respectively.

In the Pirelli MX2 class, Mathew McEntee (KTM) took top position for round two of the cup, followed closely by TM-supported Zaccari Luzzi who took second for the day. Third in the MX2 class was handed to Matthew Kehl (Yamaha).

Last round’s Cup winner Joel Evans, went down in the second moto and was unable to start the final race, meaning he had to settle for fourth. Fifth for the round was taken by Zane Keleher (KTM) respectively.

The next round of the North Cup will now head to Gladstone on 24 August.

2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals
Round eight – Raymond Terrace, NSW

MX1 North Cup overall results:
1. Hayden Mellross 35
2. Joel Milesevic 32
3. Darcy Jones 30
4. Daniel McEntee 28
5. Scott Green 26

MX1 North Cup championship standings:
1. Hayden Mellross 70
2. Darcy Jones 62
3. Joel Milesevic 58
4. Scott Green 56
5. Daniel McEntee 56

MX2 North Cup overall results:
1. Mathew McEntee 35
2. Zaccari Luzzi 32
3. Matthew Kehl 30
4. Joel Evans 28
5. Zane Keleher 26

MX2 North Cup championship standings:
1. Mathew McEntee 67
2. Joel Evans 63
3. Zaccari Luzzi 62
4. Zane Keleher 54
5. Matthew Kehl 56