News 14 Jul 2014

Cairoli wins, Ferris a fine sixth in Finnish grand prix

Herlings continues domination of MX2 with another sweep.

Source: Husqvarna Racing.

Source: Husqvarna Racing.

Round 13 of the FIM Motocross World Championship in Hyvinkää was unforgiving to say the least, although Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s duo of Antonio Cairoli and Jeffrey Herlings could have fooled you, as they both dominated both races to extend their championship points lead even further.

It’s a commonly known fact ‘the tougher the better’ for Cairoli who is one of the most technically gifted riders in the world. The Italian pulled two Fox Holeshots and dominated both races for his seventh overall victory this year.

“I think this track was one of the toughest we have had so far, it was very bumpy and difficult but it was nice for me to get the holeshot, it always makes everything easier and I have been working hard on my starts this year and it seems to be working well,” he said.

It has been a while since we have seen Monster Energy Kawasaki Racing Team’s Steven Frossard on the box, but finally he made it after charging mega hard all day for two top three finishes. Despite crashing in race two, the Frenchman bounced back hungrier than ever to take second for second overall.

The third step of the podium was hard fought today for Rockstar Energy Suzuki World’s Kevin Strijbos who stood on that same step for the sixth time this year.

Proving just how testing the circuit here in Hyvinkää is, Yamaha Factory Racing’s Jeremy Van Horebeek uncharacteristically crashed in race two and destroyed the front end of his bike. A pit stop with some quick repairs, the Belgian gritted his teeth and soldiered on despite his handlebars being insanely bent. Remarkably the 24-year-old managed to salvage 10th place, which in combination with his second place in race one, rewarded him with fourth overall.

Out of the eight rounds Team HRC’s Max Nagl has contested, he has banked seven top five finishes with today’s fifth overall being the seventh.

Meanwhile performance of the day has to go to Red Bull IceOne Husqvarna Factory Racing’s Dean Ferris who, after nine months off of racing motocross and only just recovering from injury, proved he is a real force in the MXGP class after mixing it with the top five in both motos to take home sixth and fifth for sixth overall.

What more can we say about Herlings? The kid’s riding speaks for itself as he dominated both races by over a minute to take home his 43rd MX2 Grand Prix overall at the tender age of 19. With his double victory here today, it’s more than likely the Dutch sensation will claim FIM MX2 world title number three at the next round of MXGP in Loket, Czech Republic.

Another solid result for Honda Gariboldi rider Tim Gajser who claimed his fourth podium finish of the year with second overall.

Despite being a little black and blue with bruises from yesterday’s huge crash in qualifying, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Jordi Tixier toughed it out today to take second and fourth for third overall.

Meanwhile it was a very frustrating day in the office for CLS Kawasaki Monster Energy’s Dylan Ferrandis, eventually landing him in fourth overall. Yamaha Factory Racing’s Christophe Charlier battled the gnarly conditions all day long for fifth overall and his best result of the season.

Australia’s Luke Styke was injured in a crash off the start of moto one, suffering a knock to the head before it was later confirmed he has stretched shoulder ligaments in another blow to his season.

2014 MXGP World Championship
Round 13 – Hyvinkää, Finland

MXGP overall results:
1. Antonio Cairoli 50
2. Steven Frossard 42
3. Kevin Strijbos 34
4. Jeremy Van Horebeek 33
5. Maximilian Nagl 32
6. Dean Ferris (AUS) 30
7. Shaun Simpson 29
8. David Philippaerts 24
9. Rui Goncalves 23
10. Matiss Karro 21

MXGP championship standings:
1. Antonio Cairoli 577
2. Jeremy Van Horebeek 515
3. Clement Desalle 470
4. Kevin Strijbos 424
5. Steven Frossard 307
6. Shaun Simpson 296
7. Maximilian Nagl 269
8. David Philippaerts 234
9. Davide Guarneri 218
10. Gautier Paulin 205
20. Todd Waters (AUS) 107
27. Dean Ferris (AUS) 38

MX2 overall results:
1. Jeffrey Herlings 50
2. Tim Gajser 40
3. Jordi Tixier 40
4. Dylan Ferrandis 31
5. Christophe Charlier 29
6. Romain Febvre 28
7. Julien Lieber 27
8. Valentin Guillod 26
9. Jose Butron 24
10. Aleksandr Tonkov 24

MX2 championship standings:
1. Jeffrey Herlings 594
2. Jordi Tixier 449
3. Romain Febvre 416
4. Dylan Ferrandis 403
5. Tim Gajser 390
6. Arnaud Tonus 389
7. Valentin Guillod 314
8. Aleksandr Tonkov 308
9. Jose Butron 289
10. Jeremy Seewer 257
22. Luke Styke (AUS) 80

Click here for detailed results