News 22 May 2014

Booth-Elliott and Arbon top South Cups at Murray Bridge

Woods and Arbon extend series leads with one round remaining.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Woods MX Snapes Logistics Race Team rider Lewis Woods and SD3 Husqvarna’s Luke Aron have extended their leads in their respective classes in the 2014 South Cup at the Monster Energy MX Nationals.

Woods earned 32 out of a possible 35 points at the Murray Bridge round of the championship, to extend his lead in the Motul MX1 class.

The win has Woods on 102 points in the overall standings, now eight points clear of his nearest rival Matt Ginders (Suzuki), who is a further 31 points ahead of third placed rider James Booth-Elliott (Suzuki). Booth-Elliott topped the SA round.

In the Pirelli MX2 class, Arbon took maximum points in the South Cup after finishing the event in first place outright.

Only 20 points separates the top four riders in the class, with Joel Milesevic (TM) and Riley Graham (KTM) coming second and third at Murray Bridge, placing them second and third respectively in the overall points.

Only one more round of the series will contribute points to the South Cup, and that is at round six to be held at Swan Hill on 28 June.

2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship
Round four – Murray Bridge, SA

MX1 South Cup overall results:
1. James Booth-Elliott 35
2. Lewis Woods 32
3. Matt Ginders 30
4. Brodie Hartin 28

MX1 South Cup championship standings (after three of four rounds):
1. Lewis Woods 102
2. Matt Ginders 94
3. James Booth-Elliott 63
4. Brodie Hartin 53
5. Alex Morris 30
6. Dylan Gosling 26
7. Chris Camilleri 24
8. Nick Bressan 23

MX2 South Cup overall results:
1. Luke Arbon 35
2. Joel Milesevic 32
3. Riley Graham 30
4. Tom Jones 28
5. Matt van Slooten 26
6. James Brown 25
7. Tomas Ravenhorst 24

MX2 South Cup championship standings (after three of four rounds):
1. Luke Arbon 102
2. Joel Milesevic 90
3. Riley Graham 87
4. Matt van Slooten 82
5. Tom Jones 77
6. Tomas Ravenhorst 73
7. Daniel Banks 63
8. James Brown 49
9. Paul Humberston 23