News 18 May 2014

Crawford captures first MX Nationals MXD round win

Queenslander claims a clean-sweep in Murray Bridge weekend.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Husqvarna rider Nathan Crawford has performed a clean-sweep in the Pirelli MXD class at the fourth round of the 2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals at Murray Bridge.

The result has propelled the talented rider to within eight points of the overall series lead, and has added to the intrigue of the current class standings.

Only three points separates the top three riders in the class with Husqvarna Australia’s Egan Mastin sitting on 273 points, Bolton KTM Motorcycles rider Jack Simpson on 272 points and GYTR Yamaha’s Jed Beaton on 270 points.

But it was all about Crawford in South Australia, who put in a sterling performance to claim the round honours.

In the opening moto, a huge crash at the opening corner saw Simpson go down and Crawford take the holeshot. His lead didn’t last long with Cully’s Yamaha rider Kyle Webster taking the lead from Aaron Tanti (Sutto’s SS Racing KTM), Crawford and Mastin in fourth.

By the halfway point of the race, Mastin had claimed the lead from Crawford and Webster, and looked to be heading for a big race win.

However, the tightness of the class was on display when right on the finish line, Crawford passed Mastin to take the win in one of the closes finishes seen in recent times.

Webster rounded off the top three, with Dylan Wilson (Tattoo Racing Suzuki) and Beaton finishing in fourth and fifth place respectively.

Simpson battled hard from back in 17th place early on in the race to finish in 10th and earn some important points to go towards the championship race.

The second moto saw Crawford race to the holeshot and take the lead which he never surrendered throughout the race. Simpson moved into second place ahead of Webster and Beaton, and the trio finished in second, third and fourth respectively.

The second race was Mastin’s turn to claim valuable make-up points after a terrible start, finishing the moto in fifth place and third outright on the day behind Webster.

Round five of the 2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals makes its way to Wanneroo in Western Australia on 25 May.

2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship
Round four – Murray Bridge, SA

MXD overall results:
1. Nathan Crawford 70
2. Kyle Webster 60
3. Egan Mastin 58
4. Jed Beaton 54
5. Jack Simpson 53
6. Dylan Wilson 52
7. Aaron Tanti 50
8. Jayden Rykers 46
9. Wilson Todd 39
10. Daniel Price 38
11. Brock McLeary 38
12. Jett Anderson 36
13. Zak Small 35
14. James Alen 34
15. Tyler Lange 34
16. Robert Lovett 32
17. Izak Maule 31
18. Bailey Coxon 30
19. Ty Pearce 28
20. Aaron Hart 23

MXD championship standings:
1. Egan Mastin 273
2. Jack Simpson 272
3. Jed Beaton 270
4. Nathan Crawford 265
5. Wilson Todd 209
6. Kyle Webster 206
7. Jayden Rykers 199
8. Aaron Tanti 177
9. Brock McLeary 176
10. Daniel Price 155
11. Wayde Carter 132
12. Dylan Wilson 129
13. Jesse McNally 128
14. Bailey Coxon 121
15. Jett Anderson 118
16. Ty Pearce 113
17. Izak Maule 112
18. Zak Small 112
19. Blake Colleton 106
20. Jarrod Kelly 96

Click here for detailed results