News 16 May 2014

Fan Guide: 2014 MX Nationals Rd4 Murray Bridge

Information you need to know ahead of Sunday's fourth round.

When the 2014 MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, returns to Murray Bridge in South Australia this Sunday, 18 May, Team Motul Suzuki’s Matt Moss will lead the premier MX1 category into round four of the season.

Moss tied for the victory last time out at Wonthaggi, but was still able to extend his series lead by virtue of his Super Pole qualifying performance, and further seat time on board the RM-Z450 in the weeks leading up to SA is poised to pay off on Sunday.

Three rounds into the 2014 season Moss holds down a strong 22-point advantage in the standings, with round wins at both Broadford and Appin before he was credited second overall at Wonthaggi on countback.

“I’ve had a good week training and we’ve made some changes on the bike,” Moss commented. “I’ve done a lot of motos on my track and I’m actually feeling a lot better than I have all season – we’re a lot better than where we were.

“I’m fit and ready to go. It’s not a track that I can remember too much success at in the past, but hopefully we can turn that around this weekend at get a victory. Getting a strong result in South Australia would be great for the championship.”

Moss currently leads South Australian local favourite Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) in the standings, with Adam Monea (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki) third after winning at Wonthaggi three weeks ago.

The other riders gaining steam in the season’s current position are Monea’s teammate Jake Moss and Scotsman Billy Mackenzie (CDR Yamaha) – all five picking up moto wins to date in 2014.

The MX2 ranks are just as tight in the waging war between four-stroke and two, with Luke Clout (Serco Yamaha) holding down the red plate from two-time round winner Kayne Lamont (WIL Sport Red Bull Husqvarna) and fellow Kiwi Hamish Harwood (CMR Red Bull KTM).

Currently leading the MXD development ranks is new red plate holder Jack Simpson (Tunetech Racing KTM) over Jed Beaton (GYTR Yamaha) and Egan Mastin (Husqvarna Motocross Racing Team). Those three are split by just four points in another battle of the engine strokes. will compile an official pre-race Fan Guide ahead of every round in 2014.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Circuit location

Old Princess Highway
Monarto, SA

Event entry

Adults: $30
Children (aged 5-15 years): $20
Family (two adults and two children aged 5-15 years): $70

Event schedule

Entry lists

MX1 riders:
1 Matt Moss
2 Jay Marmont
3 Adam Monea
5 Kirk Gibbs
6 Jake Moss
9 Brock Winston
10 Cody Cooper
11 Sam Martin
12 Rhys Carter
15 Lewis Woods
37 Jacob Wright
40 Jesse O’Farrell
Brett Norton
45 Hayden Mellross
48 Kade Mosig
53 Tyson Whillas
57 Charlie Creech
87 Brodie Hartin
95 James Booth Elliott
122 Joey Merrylees
127 Dylan Gosling
211 Billy Mackenzie
242 Rick Bailey
414 Jesse Dobson
811 Tim Vare

MX2 riders:
2 Kale Makeham
3 Ryan Marmont
4 Luke Clout
6 Jay Wilson
8 Nick Sutherland
10 Josh Cachia
12 Brenden Harrison
13 Levi Addison
14 Geran Stapleton
15 Luke Wilson
21 James Brown
23 Wade Hunter
25 Matt van Slooten
27 Sam Davie
30 Dean Porter
34 Daniel Banks
51 Hamish Dobbyn
52 Riley Graham
53 Hamish Harwood
v53 Matt Ryan
54 Luke Arbon
61 Kody Wheeler
62 Joel Milesevic
70 Jake Emanuelli
81 Joel Evans
82 Elijah Wiese
83 Joel Green
86 Daniel McEntee
94 Kayne Lamont
101 Tristen Cachia
103 Fraser Heidrich
118 Ryan Hunt
174 Tom Jones
188 Tomas Ravenhorst
208 Josh Adams
283 Errol Willis
485 Caleb Ward

MXD riders:
4 Brock McLeary
6 Jett Anderson
7 Jack Simpson
10 Dylan Wilson
11 Ryan Shadbolt
12 Jed Beaton
15 Aaron Hart
16 Jarrod Kelly
17 Bailey Coxon
20 Jordan Waters
23 Kyle Webster
26 Aaron Tanti
29 Robert Lovett
36 Jayden Rykers
41 Wilson Todd
45 Egan Mastin
47 Toby Stevens
51 Zak Small
52 James Alen
66 Tyler Lange
80 Mathew McEntee
84 Siegah Ward
90 Matthew Hopkins-Talty
100 Ty Pearce
140 Kayne Duncanson
188 Trent Wheatley
199 Nathan Crawford
264 Izak Maule
265 Jamie Harvey
302 Kye Wilkinson
373 Jye Breed
436 Emma Milesevic
600 Daniel Price
818 Ryan Boyd
851 Ty Lynch
941 Brodie Ravenhorst

Clubman Lites riders:
30 Alysha Goullet
100 Carson Davies
187 Jasper Anderson
275 Travis Chamings
304 Luke Sparrow
310 Scott Walker
367 Jake Noble
415 Rohan Start
427 Luke Kennett
432 James Jafer
448 Chris Goullet
533 Jesse Witheridge
595 Jack Davey
755 Michael Skinner
773 Sam Taylor
849 Bryce van Slooten
TBA Matt Allen social media




2014 series calendar

Rd1 – 30 March – Broadford, VIC
Rd2 – 13 April – Appin, NSW
Rd3 – 27 April – Wonthaggi, VIC
Rd4 – 18 May – Murray Bridge, SA
Rd5 – 25 May – Wanneroo, WA
Rd6 – 29 June – Conondale, QLD
Rd7 – 13 July – Swan Hill, VIC
Rd8 – 3 August – Raymond Terrace, NSW
Rd9 – 24 August – Gladstone, QLD
Rd10 – 31 August – Coolum, QLD