News 25 Apr 2014

Fan Guide: 2014 MX Nationals Rd3 Wonthaggi

Information you need to know ahead of Sunday's third round.

The 2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals will resume at Wonthaggi in Victoria on Sunday, 27 April, for round three of 10 in the hotly-contested Australian Motocross Championship series.

Team Motul Suzuki’s Matt Moss will aim for a third consecutive round victory in the premier MX1 category, winning the opening two rounds of the season to stretch an early 20-point advantage in the championship standings.

An aggravated shoulder injury has sidelined Moss in recent weeks directly following the Appin round of the title chase, but he’s confident that he’ll be able to carry on his race-winning form aboard the RM-Z450 when the gates drop on Sunday.

“I really like Wonthaggi,” Moss commented. “It’s where I got on the podium last year for the first time and where I got my first Super Pole, so it was a weekend where I felt we were really able to get last year’s championship on track.

“Training hasn’t really gone to plan since round two; my shoulder has been causing me some problems so I have only ridden twice since Appin. It’s been a week and a half off the bike, but I’m looking forward to getting back on it this weekend.

“I’m feeling good now though, the shoulder will be ready to go and I have good memories at the place. The track there’s loamy, a bit hard-pack in places, and I enjoy it. For us what’s important is to keep doing what we have been doing and score good points for the championship every event.”

Moss currently leads Kirk Gibbs (KTM Motocross Racing Team) and Adam Monea (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki) in the standings; both highly capable of snapping Moss’ streak come Sunday. As are Jake Moss (NPS Monster Energy Kawasaki) and Billy Mackenzie (CDR Yamaha), who complete the series top five to date.

The MX2 division has a new leader in Serco Yamaha’s Luke Clout, taking over the red plates via victory at Appin to lead rookie standout Hamish Harwood (CMR Red Bull KTM) – first of the two-strokes – and Brenden Harrison (Instant Security KTM), who is returning from injury in 2014.

Local Wonthaggi rider Jed Beaton (GYTR Yamaha) leads the MXD title chase aboard his YZ250F, fending off Egan Mastin (Husqvarna Motocross Racing Team) and round two winner Jack Simpson (Bolton Motorcycles KTM) in the title chase.

This weekend will also see the introduction of the Honda CRF150 Cup, pitting together a selection of the country’s finest junior talent on the four-stroke mini racers. will compile an official pre-race Fan Guide ahead of every round in 2014.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Image: Jeff Crow.

Circuit location

West Area Road
Wonthaggi, VIC, 3995

Event entry

Adults: $30
Children (aged 5-15 years): $20
Family (two adults and two children aged 5-15 years): $70

Event schedule

MX1 rider list

1 Matt Moss
2 Jay Marmont
3 Adam Monea
5 Kirk Gibbs
6 Jake Moss
9 Brock Winston
10 Cody Cooper
11 Sam Martin
12 Rhys Carter
15 Lewis Woods
31 Daniel Milner
43 Ross Beaton
45 Hayden Mellross
48 Kade Mosig
54 Matt Ginders
65 Michael Grassick
87 Brodie Hartin
127 Gosling Dylan
211 Billy Mackenzie
242 Rick Bailey
350 Aaron Watts
414 Jesse Dobson

MX2 rider list

2 Kale Makeham
3 Ryan Marmont
4 Luke Clout
5 Dylan Long
6 Jay Wilson
8 Nick Sutherland
10 Josh Cachia
11 Ben George
12 Brenden Harrison
14 Geran Stapleton
15 Luke Wilson
16 Dakota Court
20 Pontus Petersson
21 James Brown
23 Wade Hunter
25 Matt van Slooten
27 Caleb Gasbarri
34 Daniel Banks
51 Hamish Dobbyn
52 Riley Graham
53 Hamish Harwood
54 Luke Arbon
61 Kody Wheeler
62 Joel Milesevic
66w Meghan Rutledge
70 Jake Emanuelli
81 Joel Evans
82 Elijah Wiese
83 Joel Green
86 Daniel McEntee
94 Kayne Lamont
101 Tristen Cachia
112 Nick Scott
118 Ryan Hunt
174 Tom Jones
188 Tomas Ravenhorst
208 Josh Adams
221 Lewis Reardon
283 Errol Willis
485 Caleb Ward

MXD rider list

4 Brock McLeary
5 Wayde Carter
6 Jett Anderson
7 Jack Simpson
10 Dylan Wilson
11 Ryan Shadbolt
12 Jed Beaton
15 Aaron Hart
16 Jarrod Kelly
17 Bailey Coxon
20 Jordan Waters
23 Kyle Webster
25 Jake Salems
26 Aaron Tanti
29 Robert Lovett
31 Blake Colleton
33 Jesse McNally
36 Jayden Rykers
41 Wilson Todd
44 Brody Cassidy
45 Egan Mastin
51 Zak Small
52 James Alen
61 Greg Morgan
64 Lachlan Davis
66 Tyler Lange
90 Matthew Hopkins-Talty
100 Ty Pearce
143 Wayne Stewart
188 Trent Wheatley
199 Nathan Crawford
264 Izak Maule
265 Jamie Harvey
270 Jake Cahir
302 Kye Wilkinson
306 Geoffrey Chalmers
386 Harrison Pescarini
388 Brandon Batson
432 James Jafer
500 James Lambie
600 Daniel Price
619 Jacob Graue
818 Ryan Boyd
851 Ty Lynch
941 Brodie Ravenhorst

CRF150 Cup rider list

12 Jai Constantinou
28 Cory Watts
48 Chandler Burns
54 Bradley Cain
69 Tom Bell
72 Hugh McKay
73 Garrod Stanborough
180 Hayden Noles
258 Thomas Geale
614 Jackson Start
659 Lachlan Skinner social media




2014 series calendar

Rd1 – 30 March – Broadford, VIC
Rd2 – 13 April – Appin, NSW
Rd3 – 27 April – Wonthaggi, VIC
Rd4 – 18 May – Murray Bridge, SA
Rd5 – 25 May – Wanneroo, WA
Rd6 – 29 June – Conondale, QLD
Rd7 – 13 July – Swan Hill, VIC
Rd8 – 3 August – Raymond Terrace, NSW
Rd9 – 24 August – Gladstone, QLD
Rd10 – 31 August – Coolum, QLD