News 10 Mar 2014

Cooper and Lamont continue New Zealand dominance

Kiwi chargers too good on home soil once again at Pukekohe.

Image: Andy McGechan /

Image: Andy McGechan /

The Honda Shop Racing’s Cody Cooper has taken another step toward a third New Zealand Motocross Championship, winning the overall at Pukekohe’s penultimate round on Sunday.

Cooper rode to 1-1-2 finishes for the weekend to claim the overall, from countryman Brad Groombridge (Suzuki) and Scotsman Billy Mackenzie (Altherm JCR Yamaha).

The final moto was won however by South Australian Kirk Gibbs, the KTM Motocross Racing Team rider finishing fifth overall despite crashing out of moto one. He went 2-1 in the final motos.

“It’s always good to get a couple of wins… I would have liked three actually,” Cooper said. “But I can head to Taupo with a race up my sleeve. These guys are getting faster each week and they were pushing me today.

“I pass on my congratulations to Kirk Gibbs for winning that last race today – he rode well. I like racing at Taupo, so hopefully it will all work out for me there.”

Ford Dale had a disastrous day, finishing eighth in moto one before DNFs in the final motos ended his weekend.

In the MX2 ranks it was Kayne Lamont who won the overall for Husqvarna with a clean-sweep, from Hamish Dobbyn and John Phillips. Jay Wilson was fourth overall after finishing second in the final moto.

The 2014 senior nationals wind up with the fourth and final round set for Taupo on 22 March.

2014 Backflips New Zealand Motocross Championship
Round three – Pukekohe

MX1 overall results:
1. Cody Cooper
2. Brad Groombridge
3. Billy Mackenzie
4. Michael Phillips
5. Kirk Gibbs
6. Ethan Martens
7. Jesse Wiki
8. Dion Picard
9. Matty Haworth
10. Campbell Bailey

MX1 championship standings:
1. Cody Cooper 217
2. Billy Mackenzie 180
3. Brad Groombridge 168
4. Kirk Gibbs 157
5. Michael Phillips 125
6. Ford Dale 123
7. Jesse Wiki 111
8. Dion Picard 107
9. Ethan Martens 106
10. Matty Haworth 93

MX2 overall results:
1. Kayne Lamont
2. Hamish Dobbyn
3. John Phillips
4. Jay Wilson
5. Rhys Carter
6. Hamish Harwood
7. Scott Columb
8. Hayden Kanters
9. Ryan Thompson
10. Nick Saunders

MX2 championship standings:
1. Kayne Lamont 216
2. Hamish Dobbyn 178
3. Jay Wilson 164
4. John Phillips 152
5. Scott Columb 151
6. Hamish Harwood 145
7. Rhys Carter 106
8. Hayden Kanters 98
9. Nick Saunders 92
10. Kieran Scheele 81

Click here for detailed results