News 23 Feb 2014

Roczen maintains pressure with Atlanta supercross victory

Davalos breaks through for first career win in East Coast 250SX.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen won his second Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, of the season at the Georgia Dome to inch closer to series leader Ryan Villopoto.

Smartop/Motoconcepts Racing’s Mike Alessi earned the holeshot with Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Villopoto and Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart following in second and third respectively.

Stewart quickly moved into first place on the opening lap as Roczen took over third. Stewart, who came into tonight’s race on a two-race win streak, crashed in a turn moments after taking over the lead position and remounted in last place.

Villopoto moved into second place on lap four and passed Alessi for the lead on lap five. Alessi was also passed by Roczen and Red Bull KTM teammate Ryan Dungey for the second and third sports respectively.

On lap 14, Villopoto failed to jump the triple and, as a result, Roczen moved into the lead. Villopoto finished second and Dungey finished third.

“I don’t believe this,” said Roczen. “Getting on the podium is one thing but a win is another… such an awesome feeling. This proves that hard work pays off and helps build my confidence.”

Villopoto has a nine-point lead over Roczen in season standings. Stewart finished 11th and is third in season standings.

Through eight races, there have been four different two-time winners, marking the first time this has happened in the sport’s history.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Martin Davalos captured the first Eastern Regional 250SX Class win of his career, winning ahead of teammate Adam Cianciarulo and GEICO Honda’s Justin Bogle.

“I am just so happy to be able to give this win to my team,” said Davalos. “There have been so many people that have supported me, and this feels great.”

Australian Jackson Richardson bowed out in the LCQ, while countryman Taylor Potter fell one position short of the night program in qualifying 41st.

Cianciarulo has a two-point lead over Davalos in the season standings after the opening two rounds.

Monster Energy Supercross heads to Indianapolis’ Lucas Oil Stadium next Saturday for the eighth race of the season.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship
Round seven – Atlanta, GA

450SX Class results:
1. Ken Roczen
2. Ryan Villopoto
3. Ryan Dungey
4. Wil Hahn
5. Justin Brayton
6. Mike Alessi
7. Broc Tickle
8. Weston Peick
9. Josh Grant
10. Andrew Short

450SX Class championship standings:
1. Ryan Villopoto 166
2. Ken Roczen 157
3. James Stewart 140
4. Ryan Dungey 136
5. Justin Brayton 111
6. Chad Reed 111
7. Justin Barcia 109
8. Andrew Short 94
9. Wil Hahn 83
10. Broc Tickle 77

Eastern Regional 250SX Class results:
1. Martin Davalos
2. Adam Cianciarulo
3. Justin Bogle
4. Bale Wharton
5. Blake Baggett
6. Vince Friese
7. James DeCotis
8. Cole Thomson
9. Matt Lemoineki
10. Michael Oldenburg

Eastern Regional 250SX Class championship standings:
1. Adam Cianciarulo 47
2. Martin Davalos 45
3. Blake Baggett 38
4. Justin Bogle 36
5. Vince Friese 33
6. Blake Wharton 32
7. Cole Thompson 28
8. Kyle Cunningham 22
9. Mitchell Oldenburg 22
10. Jimmy DeCotis 20

Click here for detailed results