News 9 Feb 2014

Stewart wins first supercross of 2014 in San Diego

Australia's Chad Reed injured in final lap collision.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart won his first Monster Energy AMA Supercross, an FIM World Championship, race of the season at Qualcomm Stadium on Saturday night at the first-ever military appreciation race.

BTO Sports KTM’s Andrew Short led the field through turn one to start the 450SX Class main event to grab the holeshot, but was passed on the opening lap by Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto with Stewart in tow. Stewart then moved around Villopoto on the same lap.

At the end of the first lap, Discount Tire Racing/TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed pulled into third place. Reed was passed on lap seven by Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen.

Out front, Villopoto pressured Stewart throughout the 20 laps, but was never close enough to attempt a pass. It was the 46th-career victory for Stewart and his first since Atlanta last season, 15 races ago.

“It is always special to win, but especially this season,” said Stewart. “Tonight was our military-themed race and everyone here was one big family. This was an amazing race and I look forward to heading to Cowboys Stadium next weekend.”

On the last lap of the race, Reed collided with Roczen’s rear tyre in the whoops and crashed while attempting to make a pass for third. As a result, Reed did not finish the race and was credited with 12th – currently in hospital under observation.

Villopoto finished second, with Roczen in third, immediately heading to see Reed following the finish.

Of the remaining Aussies, Matt Moss (Yoshimura Suzuki) exited the main event early after winning his heat race earlier in the night. Countryman Lawson Bopping (Suzuki) missed out on a main event transfer in both riders’ last appearance in the US for the season.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Justin Hill won the first Western Regional 250SX Class main event of his career and became the fourth different rider to win a race this year in the division.

Team Tedder/Monster Energy/Kawasaki’s Dakota Tedder won the first holeshot of his career to begin the 15-lap 250SX Class final, but was quickly passed by Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson, who won last weekend at Angel Stadium.

Troy Lee Designs/MAVTV Honda’s Malcolm Stewart moved into second place and Wilson’s teammate Hill followed in third place. On the second lap, Wilson crashed and dropped outside of the top 10. Just prior to the crash, Hill was able to pass Stewart for second and then assumed the lead.

By lap six, Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson, who came into the evening tied for the points lead, passed Stewart for second place. Hill led the remaining laps for the win, while Anderson finished second and Stewart finished third. Wilson scored 21st.

“What an amazing feeling to get a win,” said Hill. “I had a lot more confidence after getting on the podium in Oakland and I was able to stay focused. I was so focused I missed the white flag, so when I got the checkered I kept charging thinking there was one more lap. This is just so awesome.”

Anderson took over sole possession of the points lead and now holds a four-point advantage over Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda’s Cole Seely, who was fourth in San Diego.

Red Bull KTM’s Dean Ferris was 10th in another consistent effort to retain 10th in the standings.

Monster Energy Supercross heads to Arlington, Texas, next Saturday, 15 February. Next weekend, the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship begins as the western regional riders are on a break until April in Houston.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship
Round six – San Diego, CA

450SX Class results:
1. James Stewart
2. Ryan Villopoto
3. Ken Roczen
4. Ryan Dungey
5. Weston Peick
6. Justin Barcia
7. Eli Tomac
8. Brock Tickle
9. Justin Brayton
10. Andrew Short

450SX Class championship standings (after six of 17 rounds):
1. Ryan Villopoto 126
2. Ken Roczen 117
3. Chad Reed 111
4. James Stewart 105
5. Justin Brayton 98
6. Ryan Dungey 94
7. Justin Barcia 89
8. Andrew Short 72
9. Weston Peick 53
10. Wil Hahn 52

Western Regional 250SX Class results:
1. Justin Hill
2. Jason Anderson
3. Malcolm Stewart
4. Cole Seely
5. Shane McElrath
6. Jessy Nelson
7. Michael Leib
8. Scott Champion
9. Jake Canada
10. Dean Ferris

Western Regional 250SX Class championship standings (after six of nine rounds):
1. Jason Anderson 131
2. Cole Seely 127
3. Justin Hill 107
4. Dean Wilson 98
5. Cooper Webb 92
6. Malcolm Stewart 89
7. Jessy Nelson 76
8. Shane McElrath 71
9. Zach Osborne 69
10. Dean Ferris 63

Click here for detailed results