News 2 Feb 2014

Reed wins second main event of 2014 season at A3

Australian leads all 20 laps in Monster Energy Supercross thriller.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Discount Tire Racing/TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed led all 20 laps of the 450SX Class main event at Anaheim’s fifth round of Monster Energy Supercross to capture his second win of the season and his second straight at Angel Stadium.

Yoshimura Suzuki’s James Stewart grabbed the holeshot to begin the final, edging out Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Ryan Villopoto with Reed close behind in third.

Villopoto made a quick move to take over the lead in the second turn, bringing Reed with him. About halfway through the opening lap, Reed made his pass on Villopoto to begin a closely contested battle that spanned the entire main event.

Red Bull KTM’s Ken Roczen asserted himself into third place, but pressured Villopoto on lap three to take over second. He would maintain the position throughout the race, often pressuring Reed but not able to gain enough ground to make a pass.

Villopoto lurked in third place for the bulk of the main, awaiting the opportunity to make a move if it presented itself, but ultimately settled into the final podium spot in the closing laps.

Reed fended off a last-lap charge by Roczen when a lapped rider got between the duo to secure his 43rd career victory and tie the all-time record at Angel Stadium with eight wins.

“It was a tough race track tonight,” said Reed. “It was about making smart choices and putting yourself in a good position to ride 20 solid laps. This win means more to me than the last one where I came from behind because it’s tougher to go out there and lead all 20 laps. We had our bike dialed in tonight and it was one of those nights where it felt one with me.

“I tried to make one last push on the last lap but a lapper got in the way. I don’t know if it would have mattered because Reed was riding well,” said Roczen. “It was a fun race and I’m glad to come out in second. The track was really hard in the end, but it made for great racing.”

Reed moved to within two points of Villopoto in the 450SX Class standings. Villopoto’s third-place finish was his third podium result of the season.

“The track was super tough,” said Villopoto. “I got a great start but Chad was able to get by me. Ken was running similar lap times and was able to get by as well, but to end up on the podium is always a good thing.”

Fellow title contenders Ryan Dungey and James Stewart experienced misfortune in the final. While battling with Dungey for the fourth position, Stewart went down in a turn and lost several positions.

Just a lap later, Dungey lost control in the whoops and crashed out of the race. Stewart battled back to finish seventh, while Dungey finished in 20th.

Second Australian in the main event, Matt Moss (Yoshimura Suzuki) was 14th after winning his LCQ earlier in the evening.

Monster Energy/Pro Circuit/Kawasaki’s Dean Wilson won his first race of the year in the Western Regional 250SX Class.

Troy Lee Designs/Lucas Oil Honda’s Cole Seely led the field of 22 riders through turn one with the holeshot in the Western Regional 250SX Class. Wilson quickly moved into second place with 51Fifty Honda’s Jake Canada in third place.

Rockstar Energy Racing’s Jason Anderson, who came into tonight’s race with a six-point lead in the season standings, was working his way through the field when he collided with Troy Lee Designs/MAVTV Honda’s Malcolm Stewart on lap two. Anderson dropped several positions and by lap eight, had moved into eighth place.

On lap 12, Seely ran into lapped traffic in a corner and crashed. This allowed Wilson to move into the lead and ride to victory. It was Wilson’s seventh win of his career and his first since last year’s season opening race of the Eastern Regional 250SX Class Championship in Arlington, Texas.

“This win really means a lot to me,” said Wilson. “The race was shaping up to be exciting during those last few laps, but I received a break. This is really emotional for me. I gained some good points and we still have some races left. I am going to come out and do my best at those races.”

Red Bull KTM’s Dean Ferris was 11th, maintaining 10th in the championship aboard the 250 SX-F.

The third race in Anaheim also signified the beginning of the Toyota Triple Challenge, which will continue at race seven in Texas, and concludes at race 16 in New Jersey. With the win tonight Reed is in line to win a brand new Toyota Tundra and is the only rider eligible to win $250,000 if he were to win all three Toyota Triple Challenge races.

Monster Energy Supercross heads to San Diego’s Qualcomm Stadium next Saturday, 8 February.

Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship
Round five – Anaheim, CA

450SX Class results:
1. Chad Reed
2. Ken Roczen
3. Ryan Villopoto
4. Justin Barcia
5. Weston Peick
6. Justin Brayton
7. James Stewart
8. Jake Weimer
9. Andrew Short
10. Ivan Tedesco
11. Broc Tickle
12. Wil Hahn
13. Nicholas Wey
14. Matt Moss
15. Jimmy Albertson
16. Vince Friese
17. Joshua Grant
18. Matthew Goerke
19. Chris Blose
20. Ryan Dungey
21. Eli Tomac
22. Mike Alessi

450SX Class championship standings (after five of 17 rounds):
1. Ryan Villopoto 104
2. Chad Reed 102
3. Ken Roczen 97
4. Justin Brayton 86
5. James Stewart 80
6. Ryan Dungey 76
7. Justin Barcia 74
8. Andrew Short 61
9. Wil Hahn 52
10. Jake Weimer 50
11. Ivan tedesco 38
12. Weston Peick 37
13. Broc Tickle 36
14. Joshua Grant 35
15. Nicholas Wey 28
16. Matt Moss 27
17. Mike Alessi 25
18. Vince Friese 23
19. Matthew Goerke 20
20. Joshua Hill 16

West Coast 250SX Class results:
1. Dean Wilson
2. Cole Seely
3. Cooper Webb
4. Justin Hill
5. Jason Anderson
6. Malcolm Stewart
7. Jake Canada
8. Shane McElrath
9. Jessy Nelson
10. Dakota Tedder
11. Dean Ferris
12. Scott Champion
13. Topher Ingalls
14. Preston Mull
15. Valentin Teillet
16. Brandon Scharer
17. Chris Howell
18. Shawn Rhinehart
19. Jean Marrone
20. Joseph Dalzell
21. Brandon Rangel
22. Conner Elliott

West Coast 250SX Class championship standings (after five of nine rounds):
1. Jason Anderson 109
2. Cole Seely 109
3. Dean Wilson 97
4. Cooper Webb 85
5. Justin Hill 82
6. Zach Osborne 69
7. Malcolm Stewart 69
8. Jessy Nelson 61
9. Shane McElrath 55
10. Dean Ferris 52
11. Dakota Tedder 40
12. Michael Leib 37
13. Jake Canada 34
14. Scott Champion 33
15. Cole Martinez 24
16. Valentin Teillet 23
17. Darryn Durham 21
18. Topher Ingalls 15
19. Chris Plouffe 13
20. Austin Politelli 11

Click here for detailed results