News 20 Jan 2014

Australian motocross 'silly season' winds down

Rider line-ups begin to emerge ahead of 2014 season.

Image: Simon Makker.

Image: Simon Makker.

Factory teams continue to align in the lead-up to the 2014 Monster Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, which commences at Broadford on 30 March.

CDR Yamaha last week confirmed that four-time series champion Jay Marmont would be returning to the fold alongside Scotsman Billy Mackenzie in an experienced combination aboard the brand new YZ450F.

Motorex KTM will field a youthful combination of second-year team rider Kirk Gibbs and 2012 MX2 champion Ford Dale, who replaces grand prix-bound Todd Waters in the team.

Suzuki, Honda or Kawasaki are yet to officially announce their final rider line-ups for this season, however information surfacing via social media in recent weeks has all but confirmed their structures.

Motul Pirelli Suzuki will continue with Matt Moss as he defends his MX Nationals and supercross championships, and a second rider remains a possibility depending on budget. Team manager Jay Foreman is currently with Moss in America.

Major news from Suzuki is that the team will switch from One Industries to Alpinestars gear and Bell helmets in 2014, debuted by Moss at the Anaheim 2 round of American supercross last weekend.

Former Suzuki rider Cody Cooper will compete as Honda’s MX1 entry this season, team owner Yarrive Konsky has confirmed. The team will compete with Penrite backing – yet to be confirmed – after parting ways with Carlton Dry in the off-season.

Kawasaki will almost certainly return with a two-rider team this season despite reportedly losing title sponsor Monster Energy, recruiting Jake Moss (pictured) to partner Adam Monea in place of Marmont. Both have publicly been aboard the team’s KX450Fs over the past weeks.

Husqvarna’s anticipated return to domestic motocross is shaping up to be with Craig Anderson Racing running Brock Winston at least, but those partnerships or the classes the team will contest are also yet to be announced. Dylan Leary was to return with the team in MX2, but recent knee surgery has ruled him out of the title hunt.

Of the MX2 category, rides announced to date include Luke Clout and Jay Wilson at Serco Yamaha, Josh Cachia at Honda, Daniel McCoy at TM Racing Australia, plus Kale Makeham (Tunetech Racing KTM), Brenden Harrison (Twe12e Clothing KTM) and Dean Porter (Berry Sweet/Mandurah City KTM) will all compete with backing from KTM.

Leading MXD team GYTR Yamaha will feature Joel Dinsdale and newcomer Jed Beaton, while Jack Simpson (Bolton’s KTM) will return for his second season with KTM support. It’s also believed Husqvarna will include an MXD entry.

A number of official confirmations are expected to be released over the coming weeks.