News 17 Jan 2014

Coma extends Dakar Rally advantage in Stage 11

Australians continue push forward in final stages of 2014 running.

Source: Dakar Rally.

Source: Dakar Rally.

Red Bull KTM’s Marc Coma claimed the most decisive Dakar Rally stage victory yet in 2014, winning Stage 11 on Thursday.

In winning the longest timed special of this year’s epic ride at 600km, Coma now leads the overall standings with a 52m36 advantage over fellow Spaniard Joan Barreda (Team HRC).

Deep in the dunes of the Atacama Desert, for most of the day Coma and his traditional rival and former teammate Cyril Despres (Yamaha) rode close together. Despres was second in the stage, from teammate Olivier Pain.

“To find the right rhythm is never easy,” Coma said. “To find the compromise between going fast, but not taking risks, this is the most difficult. You have to feel comfortable on the bike and not ride crazy.

“This is important. It’s still a long way to go and tomorrow is a very difficult special. We have to be very focused.”

Barreda was fifth in Stage 11, around eight minutes in arrears of Coma, and will now look to consolidate his runner-up position in the rally.

Australian Troy O’Connor sits 36th with two days remaining, Allan Roberts 38th and Shane Diener inching further forward to 39th.

The penultimate stage on Friday will again offer its share of challenges as they ride from El Salvador to La Serena over a total distance of 699km, including a timed special of 350km, including another series of dunes at the end of the timed special.

2014 Dakar Rally

Stage 11 results:
1. Marc Coma 6h36m08
2. Cyril Despres +2m51
3. Olivier Pain +5m28
4. Jordi Viladoms +5m53
5. Joan Barreda +8m12
6. Helder Rodrigues +9m23
7. Juan Pedrero Garcia +9m50
8. Stefan Svitko +13m25
9. Jakub Przygonski +14m40
10. Ivan Jakes +14m47

Overall results (after Stage 11):
1. Marc Coma 48h24m41
2. Joan Barreda +52m36
3. Jordi Viladoms +2h07m56
4. Olivier Pain +2h21m40
5. Helder Rodrigues +2h30m35
6. Cyril Despres +2h31m18
7. Jakub Przygonski +2h43m55
8. Daniel Gouet +3h24m35
9. Stefan Svitko +3h46m32
10. David Casteu +4h07m56

Click here for detailed results