News 14 Jan 2014

Despres breaks through for Yamaha at Dakar

Yamaha Factory Racing's defending champion wins Stage 8.

Source: Yamaha Racing.

Source: Yamaha Racing.

Yamaha Factory Racing’s Cyril Despres claimed his maiden Dakar Rally stage win for the manufacturer on Monday, winning Stage 8 over two minutes clear of the field.

The defending champion started third on the 499km special and was quick to catch race leader Marc Coma (Red Bull KTM) before closing in on Joan Barreda (Team HRC) as they tackled the route around the salt pans of Uyuni.

Despres eventually arrived at the bivouac in Calama 2m09 ahead of Barreda and 2m15 in front of Coma.

“I have to be honest and admit that I didn’t set out this morning to win the special, it was more a by-product of my determination to move up the overall rankings,” Despres said. “I won’t deny though that I’m delighted with the result, both for myself and for Yamaha.”

Coma continues to lead the overall classification by 38m08 from Barreda, with the Red Bull KTM of Jordi Viladoms third overall. Despres’ first stage victory of the year victory has moved him up to ninth in the standings.

Australians Troy O’Connor, Allan Roberts, and Shane Diener continue to soldier through the stages, currently 43rd, 44th and 53rd respectively overall.

2014 Dakar Rally

Stage 8 results:
1. Cyril Despres 5h23m20
2. Joan Barreda +2m09
3. Marc Coma +2m15
4. Helder Rodrigues +6m38
5. Olivier Pain +10m40
6. Michael Metge +12m58
7. Riaan van Niekerk +13m15
8. Daniel Gouet +13m23
9. Jakub Przygonski +13m29
10. Jordi Viladoms +13m34

Overall standings (after Stage 8):
1. Marc Coma 32h06m19
2. Joan Barreda +38m08
3. Jordi Viladoms +1h27m22
4. Alain Duclos +1h49m09
5. Jeremias Israel Esquerre +1h52m05
6. Olivier Pain +1h59m07
7. Jakub Przygonski +2h06m06
8. Helder Rodrigues +2h12m41
9. Cyril Despres +2h23m58
10. Daniel Gouet +2h38m51

Click here for detailed results