News 5 Jan 2014

Roczen and Anderson win Anaheim 1 thriller

Reed starts 2014 American supercross season on the podium.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Image: Simon Cudby.

Rookie Ken Roczen led a Red Bull KTM 1-2 finish in Anaheim’s opening round of the Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship, season.

The German, who qualified through the semi-final, topped a thrilling 20-lap main event, taking over the lead when training partner Ryan Villopoto (Monster Energy Kawasaki) crashed out of first on lap nine.

From there Roczen came under attack from James Stewart (Yoshimura Suzuki), but he crashed and suffered a DNF due to bent handlebars while going for the lead through the whoops with five laps remaining.

That enabled Roczen to race on to his first premier class victory, from teammate Ryan Dungey, who passed Australian Chad Reed (Discount Tire Racing Kawasaki) in the closing laps for the runner-up.

It was a solid performance for Reed, who later admitted he rode tight after having multiple opportunities to capitalise on his rivals’ mistakes.

“This is insane,” said Roczen. “I got off to a good start and was holding on really tight. When there were four laps to go, I realised that I could win.”

Villopoto recovered to salvage fourth, while heat two winner Justin Barcia (Team Honda Muscle Milk) fought his way to fifth, from JGR Yamaha duo Justin Brayton and Josh Grant aboard the new YZ450F.

Completing the top 10 was Broc Tickle (RCH Racing Suzuki), Andrew Short (BTO Sports KTM) and Jake Weimer (Monster Energy Kawasaki), who was forced to transfer to the main via the LCQ.

Australian champion Matt Moss (Yoshimura Suzuki) was a promising 13th, qualifying for the main with a fourth in his semi. He jarred his wrist early on in the main, but soldiered on to the finish.

Eli Tomac (GEICO Honda) was an early casualty, suffering a pinched nerve following a heavy collision with Weimer in the second heat of the round.

The West Coast 250SX opener was won by Jason Anderson (Rockstar Energy Racing KTM) after a last-ditch pass in traffic on Cole Seely (Troy Lee Designs Honda), while Zach Osborne (GEICO Honda) passed Dean Wilson (Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki) for third.

Cooper Webb (Yamalube Star Yamaha) rounded out the top five, while Australian Dean Ferris (Red Bull KTM) was 14th in his first appearance in America.

The season will continue next Saturday, 11 January, at Phoenix in Arizona.

2014 Monster Energy Supercross, an FIM World Championship
Round one – Anaheim, CA

450SX main event results:
1. Ken Roczen
2. Ryan Dungey
3. Chad Reed
4. Ryan Villopoto
5. Justin Barcia
6. Justin Brayton
7. Josh Grant
8. Broc Tickle
9. Andrew Short
10. Jake Weimer
11. Wil Hahn
12. Mike Alessi
13. Matt Moss
14. Nicholas Schmidt
15. Kyle Partridge
16. Weston Peick
17. James Stewart
18. Josh Hill
19. Jimmy Albertson
20. Vince Friese
21. Matt Goerke
22. Ivan Tedesco

450SX championship standings (after one of 17 rounds):
1. Ken Roczen 25
2. Ryan Dungey 22
3. Chad Reed 20
4. Ryan Villopoto 18
5. Justin Barcia 16
6. Justin Brayton 15
7. Josh Grant 14
8. Broc Tickle 13
9. Andrew Short 12
10. Jake Weimer 11
11. Wil Hahn 10
12. Mike Alessi 9
13. Matt Moss 8
14. Nicholas Schmidt 7
15. Kyle Partridge 6
16. Weston Peick 5
17. James Stewart 4
18. Josh Hill 3
19. Jimmy Albertson 2
20. Vince Friese 1
21. Matt Goerke 1
22. Ivan Tedesco 1

West Coast 250SX main event results:
1. Jason Anderson
2. Cole Seely
3. Zach Osborne
4. Dean Wilson
5. Cooper Webb
6. Justin Hill
7. Darryn Durham
8. Malcolm Stewart
9. Jessy Nelson
10. Austin Politelli
11. Michael Leib
12. Jake Canada
13. Dakota Tedder
14. Dean Ferris
15. Zach Bell
16. Shane McElrath
17. Valentin Teillet
18. Zackery Freeberg
19. Scott Champion
20. Topher Ingalls
21. Cole Martinez
22. Preston Mull

West Coast 250SX championship standings (after one of 17 rounds):
1. Jason Anderson 25
2. Cole Seely 22
3. Zach Osborne 20
4. Dean Wilson 18
5. Cooper Webb 16
6. Justin Hill 15
7. Darryn Durham 14
8. Malcolm Stewart 13
9. Jessy Nelson 12
10. Austin Politelli 11
11. Michael Leib 10
12. Jake Canada 9
13. Dakota Tedder 8
14. Dean Ferris 7
15. Zach Bell 6
16. Shane McElrath 5
17. Valentin Teillet 4
18. Zackery Freeberg 3
19. Scott Champion 2
20. Topher Ingalls 1
21. Cole Martinez 1
22. Preston Mull 1

Click here for detailed results