News 6 Dec 2013

Provisional 2014 Australian Supercross calendar released

Series reduced to five rounds as NSW makes welcome return.

Image: Grant Reynolds.

Image: Grant Reynolds.

International Entertainment Group has released the provisional 2014 Australian Supercross Championship calendar.

The series will be reduced to five rounds next year, once again opening with round one in Darwin on 20 September – reduced from a double-header on debut this year.

Round two will see the series make its return to New South Wales at a yet to be disclosed city, following a year’s absence.

From there Phillip Island makes its third consecutive appearance on the calendar with a double-header at the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

Brisbane will close the 2014 season in November, however the venue and exact date is yet to be confirmed.

Missing from the schedule for next year are the events in Mount Gambier, SA, and Toowoomba, QLD.

“Motorcycling Australia and IEG are working on reducing the costs for participants across the entire championship and finalising travel subsides and options for the opening round in Darwin,” the announcement stated.

Further information on next year’s series will be released shortly, according to IEG.

2014 Australian Supercross Championship provisional calendar:
Rd1 – 20 September – Darwin, NT
Rd2 – 11 October – TBA, NSW
Rd3 – 25 October – Phillip Island, VIC (MotoGP)
Rd4 – 26 October – Phillip Island, VIC (MotoGP)
Rd5 – November – Brisbane, QLD