News 29 Nov 2013

Wilson and Cooper wrap up New Zealand Supercross titles

Australian regulars sweep Winton's second and final round.

Jay Wilson on his way to the NZ SX title at Winton. Image: Jeremy McKnight..

Jay Wilson on his way to the NZ SX title at Winton. Image: Jeremy McKnight..

Australian Jay Wilson clinched the New Zealand Pro Lites Supercross Championship in Winton on Thursday night, aboard the 2014 model YZ250F.

After recently clinching the Under 19s Australian Supercross Championship, Wilson headed to NZ with Josh Coppins’ Altherm JCR Yamaha team and continued his winning form.

Entering Winton’s second and final round two points behind Kiwi Rhys Carter, Wilson won all three finals to secure the crown.

“It all went very well for Jay at Winton,” Coppins reflected. “He was one point behind Carter coming into the round, but he ended up winning the title comfortably.

“We are really happy with the new 2014 Yamaha YZ250F. This was the bike’s first outing and it was completely stock standard – a real testament to the bike’s racing pedigree and its potential.”

Carter inished runner-up to Wilson at Winton and in the series, with Peter Broxholme round out the podium.

Honda’s Cody Cooper again swept the Pro Open proceedings to clinch the title, ahead of Sam Duncanson and second JCR Yamaha rider Matt Haworth.

The New Zealand Motocross Championship will commence at Timaru on 8 February 2014.

2013 New Zealand Supercross Championship
Round two – Winton

Pro Lites round two results:
1. Jay Wilson 60
2. Rhys Carter 51
3. Peter Broxholme 45
4. Kieran Scheele 39
5. Keryn Doolan 32

Pro Lites standings (final):
1. Jay Wilson 113
2. Rhys Carter 105
3. Peter Broxholme 84
4. Kieran Scheele 70
5. Keryn Doolan 60

Pro Open round two results:
1. Cody Cooper 60
2. Sam Duncanson 47
3. Matt Haworth 45
4. Justin McDonald 39
5. Jesse Donnelly 37

Pro Open standings (final):
1. Cody Cooper 120
2. Sam Duncanson 90
3. Matt Haworth 88
4. Justin McDonald 78
5. Jesse Donnelly 68