Features 7 Aug 2013

Fan Guide: 2013 MX Nationals Rd8 Swan Hill

The Australian Motocross Championships continue in regional Victoria.

The 2013 Monster Energy MX Nationals is now in the home stretch, and each of the remaining three rounds will be pivotal in determining the class champions.

The MX1 class battle went to the wire at Hervey Bay, with Superpole again playing a significant part in determining the overall results.

CDR Yamaha’s Billy Mackenzie took the round win by a single point, his 3-3 finishes eventually overruling Campbell Mining Suzuki’s Jake Moss’ 2-2 after Moss saw his Super Pole points erased when he cut the track slightly.

Motul Pirelli Suzuki’s Matt Moss finished equal second alongside his brother, but was the big mover in championship terms, taking over the lead held all season long by Motorex KTM’s Todd Waters.

Waters and Moss have developed a fairly close rivalry in the second half of the season, and will find themselves going head to head over the remaining rounds.

Waters’ teammate Kirk Gibbs will be another to keep an eye on, bristling with confidence after he won last weekend’s King of the Cross in Western Australia.

Add Hervey Bay moto one winner Gareth Swanepoel into the mix, along with the class’ established stars, and we’re setup for a close battle at Swan Hill!

Luke Styke has a stranglehold on the MX2 ranks this season, and with a sizeable lead, will be tough to stop from this point onwards.

Kale Makeham and Brock Winston are in a close fight for second so far, and the Victorian event will be significant in determining the outcome of the 2013 title.

The MXD class is also closely-contested, with at least five riders in the immediate frame for championship contention.

Hamish Harwood has the edge, but the likes of Jack Simpson and Jay Wilson are closing up fast. It will be a close run to the finish, and one we’re excited to see the outcome of.

MotoOnline.com.au will compile an official pre-race Fan Guide ahead of every round in 2013.

The close MX1 class battle will continue in Victoria on Sunday. Image: Simon Makker/Makkreative.com.

The close MX1 class battle will continue in Victoria on Sunday. Image: Simon Makker/Makkreative.com.

Circuit Location

Swan Hill, Victoria
Swan Hill Motorcycle Club, Ultima Rd, Swan Hill

Event Entry

Adults: $30
Children (aged 5-15 years): $20
Family (two adults and two children aged 5-15 years): $70

Event Schedule

Current Standings

MX1 championship standings (after seven of 10 rounds):
1. Matt Moss 436
2. Todd Waters 434
3. Billy Mackenzie 405
4. Cody Cooper 382
5. Lawson Bopping 365
6. Jake Moss 343
7. Kirk Gibbs 343
8. Adam Monea 323
9. Jay Marmont 286
10. Tye Simmonds 273

MX2 championship standings (after seven of 10 rounds):
1. Luke Styke 473
2. Kale Makeham 382
3. Brock Winston 354
4. Josh Cachia 305
5. Geran Stapleton 304
6. Ryan Marmont 297
7. Luke Clout 285
8. Takeshi Katsuya 280
9. Dylan Long 274
10. Rhys Carter 255

MXD championship standings (after five of eight rounds):
1. Hamish Harwood 307
2. Jack Simpson 279
3. Jay Wilson 257
4. Joel Dinsdale 256
5. Jesse Dobson 249
6. Corey James 226
7. Joel Wightman 221
8. Logan Blackburn 205
9. Jake Emmanuelli 180
10. Nick Scott 176

MotoOnline.com.au Social Networking Updates




2013 Series Calendar

Rd1 – 14 April – Raymond Terrace, NSW
Rd2 – 28 April – Murray Bridge, SA
Rd3 – 5 May – Wonthaggi, VIC
Rd4 – 19 May – Broadford, VIC
Rd5 – 2 June – Conondale, QLD
Rd6 – 14 July – Appin, NSW
Rd7 – 28 July – Hervey Bay, QLD
Rd8 – 11 August – Swan Hill, VIC
Rd9 – 25 August – Toowoomba, QLD
Rd10 – 31 Aug – 1 Sep – Coolum, QLD

Round seven highlights and Race Reflection