Features 29 Jul 2012

Race Report: 2012 MX Nationals Rd8 Appin

Coppins, Dale and Wilson win Appin round of Australian Motocross Championship.

CDR Yamaha’s Josh Coppins has claimed a pivotal third win of the 2012 Monster Energy MX Nationals, extending his MX1 Australian Motocross Championship lead to 12 points at Appin in New South Wales on Sunday, 29 July.

The former world number two, who announced his retirement from the sport during the weekend, was fourth in the opening moto, second in moto two and then sealed the overall with a dominant win in the final 30-minute moto.

It was a special win for the New Zealander on an emotion-charged day, while title challenger Todd Waters was second for Motul Pirelli Suzuki. Waters started the round with a victory in the first moto, before claiming a pair of fourths in the final motos.

CDR Yamaha’s Josh Coppins extended his MX1 lead with victory at Appin. Image: Simon Makker/Makkreative.com.

“In the first two motos I struggled with arm-pump, which I was surprised with because the track was really smooth,” Coppins said. “It’s always good to win and nice to take a few points back [in the race for the championship]. Hopefully we can keep it up in Moree and not make it too tense at Coolum.”

Third for the round was Campbell Mining/TLD/Maxima/Honda privateer Jake Moss, a rewarding result in what is his home round of the championship. Moss was seventh in moto one, but a third and a second in the final motos landed him on the podium for the weekend.

New Zealand’s Cody Cooper was fourth for Motul Pirelli Suzuki after winning moto two in fine style, while JDR/KTM Factory Racing rider Dan Reardon completed the top five just one week after announcing his retirement.

Coppins won MX1 overall ahead of Todd Waters and Jake Moss. Image: Simon Makker/Makkreative.com.

The MX2 category was won by Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing’s Ford Dale as he attempts to close in on series leader Luke Styke. Dale was a disastrous 10th in moto one, but bounced back to salvage the overall with two wins to complete the weekend.

“The first moto didn’t go to plan after I went down on the second lap,” Dale said. “The second moto was a lot better and I was able to get into the lead on the last lap, so I won that. Moto three was good as well, I just rode my own race and that’s how I ride my best.”

Moto one winner Josh Cachia was second overall and tied with Dale in a continuation of his recent form, claiming 1-3-5 results for the weekend. Cachia maintains third in the series behind Styke and Dale.

The podium was completed by Monster Energy Kawasaki’s Kade Mosig in a solid performance, scoring second in the first two motos before a seventh in moto three wrapped up his weekend.

Runaway series leader Styke was fourth for the round in another consistent effort, now holding down a 31-point lead in the series with three rounds remaining.

The MX2 category was won by Ford Dale over Josh Cachia and Kade Mosig. Image: Simon Makker/Makkreative.com.

Winner of the MXD class overall at Appin was Raceline Pirelli Suzuki rider Jay Wilson in a breakthrough performance. Wilson started off the weekend with a dream result of two wins in the back-to-back motos, and then won overall with a third in moto three.

“I’ve finally got the monkey off my back for this year,” Wilson said. “We finally got it all dialed in, the Raceline Pirelli Suzuki was sweet and I’m so happy to get this win for them. The team has been working so hard, so it’s nice to reward them with this.”

Second was Dylan Long for Choice Motorsports KTM, edging out title rival and fellow KTM contender Kayne Lamont. The Kiwi may have had his four-round win streak broken, but he enjoys a 27-point lead in the series ahead of Long.

The final moto of the weekend was won by new Axis Motorsports Kawasaki recruit Dylan Leary, resulting in a promising fourth overall on debut with the team on a four-stroke.

MXD saw a new winner in Jay Wilson from Dylan Long and Kayne Lamont. Image: Simon Makker/Makkreative.com.

The Monster Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship, will now take two weekends off before continuing at Moree in New South Wales on Sunday, 19 August.

Visit www.mxnationals.com.au for further information on the Monster Energy MX Nationals series. Fans can also find the series on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram by searching MX Nationals.

2012 Monster Energy MX Nationals, Australian Motocross Championship
Round Eight – Appin, NSW

MX1 Overall Results:
1. Josh Coppins 65
2. Todd Waters 61
3. Jake Moss 56
4. Cody Cooper 52
5. Daniel Reardon 51
6. Lawson Bopping 45
7. Dean Porter 40
8. Billy Mackenzie 38
9. Jay Marmont 34
10. Brad Anderson 32

MX2 Overall Results:
1. Ford Dale 61
2. Josh Cachia 61
3. Kade Mosig 58
4. Luke Styke 56
5. Adam Monea 47
6. Cheyne Boyd 47
7. Kirk Gibbs 46
8. Scott Columb 37
9. Keiron Hall 36
10. Geran Stapleton 26

MXD Overall Results:
1. Jay Wilson 70
2. Dylan Long 62
3. Kayne Lamont 60
4. Dylan Leary 58
5. Kale Makeham 48
6. Mitch Norris 47
7. Nicklas Scott 39
8. Sam Martin 34
9. Corey James 34
10. Dylan Wills 32

MX1 Championship Standings (after 8 of 10 rounds):
1. Josh Coppins 480
2. Todd Waters 468
3. Lawson Bopping 420
4. Brad Anderson 412
5. Cody Cooper 388
6. Jake Moss 311
7. Jay Marmont 288
8. Daniel Reardon 278
9. Dean Porter 257
10. Daniel McCoy 249

MX2 Championship Standings (after 8 of 10 rounds):
1. Luke Styke 477
2. Ford Dale 446
3. Josh Cachia 429
4. Kade Mosig 395
5. Adam Monea 374
6. Cheyne Boyd 366
7. Kirk Gibbs 347
8. Scott Columb 286
9. Justin McDonald 282
10. Lewis Woods 255

MXD Championship Standings (after 7 of 9 rounds):
1. Kayne Lamont 414
2. Dylan Long 387
3. Dylan Leary 352
4. Jay Wilson 340
5. Kale Makeham 337
6. Sam Martin 323
7. Mitch Norris 237
8. Joel Milesevic 230
9. Wade Hunter 176
10. Mitch Budd 175