News 19 Nov 2011

Marmont, Moss and Willis crowned in Queensland's Super X finale

Championships conclude in action-filled night at Ipswich finale.

CDR Rockstar Energy Drink Yamaha's Jay Marmont won the 2011 Monster Energy Super X series. Image: Alex Gobert.

CDR Rockstar Energy Drink Yamaha’s Jay Marmont has clinched his first Monster Energy Super X Championship with a convincing victory at Ipswich’s season finale tonight.

Marmont did what he had to do on a warm night in the Sunshine State, holeshotting the main event and clearing out to win ahead of title rival Tye Simmonds (JDR Motorex KTM) and Chris Blose (Hart and Huntington/InsureMyRide).

For Marmont it’s his fifth title since joining Yamaha in 2008 alongside four straight MX Nationals championships, also ranking as 2003 and 2004 Australian Supercross Champion.

“I’m over the moon!” Marmont said. “I’ve had nervous jitters all week, but I always believed we could get the job done. First of all I have to congratulate Tye and McCoy.

“I have to give it up to my team because we’ve had four awesome years, so to finally go back-to-back is a credit to them. I’m so emotional right now – I just need to thank everybody who made this possible.”

Second for Simmonds was a strong result, but ultimately not enough to steal the title from Marmont. Third in the series was Dan McCoy for Motul Pirelli Suzuki after finishing sixth tonight.

JDR Motorex KTM’s Matt Moss clinched his third career Super X Lites title with a calculated victory in Ipswich.

Moss made his way past American Gavin Faith with just a couple of laps remaining, the Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing rider holding onto second from Kirk Gibbs (Serco Yoshimura Yamaha).

With the result, Moss was crowned champion ahead of Faith, while Gibbs’ teammate Luke Styke slipped to third in the series with a fifth in Queensland.

“It’s great you know, I signed with JDR at the start of the year and was able to win motocross and supercross on the 250F,” Moss said.

“I can’t say enough about JDR Motorex KTM, the team is like a big family. It feels so good to win this number one plate – let’s go to America and get one over there!”

Raceline Pirelli Suzuki’s Errol Willis won the Under 19s title with a seventh place finish, crashing out of the lead early and then doing what he needed to do to take the title.

Winner in the U19s was Honda privateer Geran Stapleton, ahead of Jarrad Davis (Yamaha) and Sam Martin (Suzuki).

Behind Willis in the title was Stapletone, with Corey Lucas third. Lucas was 10th in Ipswich, riding as a guest on the Motul Pirelli Suzuki team on Steven Clarke’s factory Lites bike.

The Junior Development main event was won by Hayden Mellross (Honda), ahead of series podium placers Kurt Waterman (Honda) and Billy Jackson (Yamaha).

Jackson’s third was good enough to secure the series, with Mellross second and Waterman third.

2011 Monster Energy Super X, Australasian Supercross Championship
Final Round – Ipswich, QLD

Pro Open Results:
1. Jay Marmont
2. Tye Simmonds
3. Chris Blose
4. Billy Mackenzie
5. Todd Waters
6. Daniel McCoy
7. Craig Anderson
8. Lewis Woods
9. Ryan Marmont
10. Michael Phillips

Pro Open Standings:
1. Jay Marmont 105
2. Tye Simmonds 97
3. Daniel McCoy 87
4. Billy Mackenzie 79
5. Lawson Bopping 74
6. Todd Waters 72
7. Chris Blose 67
8. Ryan Marmont 64
9. Dan Reardon 55
10. Michael Phillips 50

Pro Lites Results:
1. Matt Moss
2. Gavin Faith
3. Kirk Gibbs
4. Luke Arbon
5. Luke Styke
6. Jackson Richardson
7. Robbie Marshall
8. Adam Monea
9. Dean Ferris
10. Ben George

Pro Lites Standings:
1. Matt Moss 118
2. Gavin Faith 89
3. Luke Styke 87
4. Brendan Harrison 70
5. Luke Arbon 70
6. Adam Monea 70
7. Steven Clarke 68
8. Dean Ferris 64
9. Robbie Marshall 61
10. Kirk Gibbs 57

Under 19s Results:
1. Geran Stapleton
2. Jarrad Davis
3. Sam Martin
4. Mitch Norris
5. Tristen Cachia
6. Sam Duncanson
7. Errol Willis
8. Lincoln Nicol
9. Ben Parrington
10. Corey Lucas

Under 19s Standings:
1. Errol Willis 89
2. Geran Stapleton 75
3. Corey Lucas 59
4. Sam Duncanson 58
5. Mitch Norris 55
6. Tristen Cachia 54
7. Jarrad Davis 52
8. Thomas Larsen-Moss 48
9. Sam Martin 47
10. Jake Williams 34

Junior Development Results:
1. Hayden Mellross
2. Kurt Waterman
3. Billy Jackson
4. Joel Wightman
5. Nathan Crowford
6. Lenny Magyar
7. Aaron Hart
8. Haki Waller
9. Mitchell Nichols
10. Jake Donaher

Junior Development Standings:
1. Billy Jackson 80
2. Hayden Mellross 79
3. Kurt Waterman 72
4. Joel Wightman 71
5. Lenny Magyar 61
6. Mitchell Nichols 44
7. Aaron Hart 43
8. Joel Dinsdale 40
9. Jake Donaher 39
10. Nathan Crawford 31