News 29 Oct 2011

Super X heat races complete at Wollongong's WIN Stadium

Luke Styke won the second Super X Lites heat at WIN Stadium. Image: Alex Gobert.

Luke Styke won the second Super X Lites heat at WIN Stadium. Image: Alex Gobert.

Heat races have wrapped up here at WIN Stadium in Wollongong, round two of the Monster Energy Super X, Australasian Supercross Championship.

The first Pro open was won by Lawson Bopping in a dominant display, taking the holeshot for Raceline Pirelli Suzuki and winning comfortably ahead of Dan Reardon (JDR Motorex KTM), Todd Waters (Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing) and Billy Mackenzie (Monster Energy Kawasaki).

The win was Bopping’s second heat victory of the year, while Victorian Cheyne Boyd crashed out early and was taken off the track by Suzuki RACESAFE.

Heat two was won by hometown favourite Jay Marmont for CDR Rockstar Yamaha, taking over at the front when Chris Blose crashed twice in a row on the Hart and Huntington/InsureMyRide Kawasaki.

Behind Marmont in the heat was series leader Tye Simmonds (JDR Motorex KTM), teammate Jake Moss, Dan McCoy (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) and Cody Mackie (Team 07 Axis Motorsports Honda).

The first Pro Lites heat was topped by title favourite Matt Moss JDR Motorex KTM, from Steven Clarke (Motul Pirelli Suzuki) and Kieron Hall (Team 07 Axis Motorsports Honda).

Pro Lites heat two saw Luke Styke take a win for Serco Yoshimura Yamaha, winning ahead of Brenden Harrison (JDR Motorex KTM) and Gavin Faith (Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing).

Dean Ferris was the early leader for Monster Energy Kawasaki, but crashed and finished up fourth.

The Under 19s heats were split between Corey Lucas (Suzuki) and Errol Willis (Raceline Pirelli Suzuki).