Features 28 Oct 2011

2011 Super X Rd2 Wollongong Preview

MotoOnline.com.au the second round of Monster Energy Super X in Wollongong.

MotoOnline.com.au the second round of Monster Energy Super X in Wollongong.

Monster Energy Super X experiences a rain-soaked opening round last weekend. Image: Rice Photography.

Monster Energy Super X experiences a rain-soaked opening round last weekend. Image: Rice Photography.

Round two of the Monster Energy Super X, Australasian Supercross Championship, heads to WIN Stadium in Wollongong this weekend.

All eyes will be on hometown heroes Jay and Ryan Marmont, doing battle in the Pro Open class for the first time ever on home soil, however it’s JDR Motorex KTM’s Tye Simmonds who leads the series after his mega opening round win.

The Pro Lites and Under 19s were also intriguing at round one, with outdoor champions Matt Moss and Errol Willis winning their respective classes.

Here’s MotoOnline.com.au’s round two preview, including the standings, track map and detailed schedule of the proceedings for Saturday, 29 October.

Championship Standings

Pro Open Standings:
1. Tye SIMMONDS – JDR Motorex KTM 25
2. Billy MACKENZIE – Monster Energy Kawasaki 22
3. Ryan MARMONT – JDR Motorex KTM 20
4. Cheyne BOYD – Carlton Dry Thor Honda Racing 18
5. Dan MCCOY – Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki 16
6. Michael PHILLIPS – Carlton Dry Thor Honda Racing 15
7. Todd WATERS – Carlton Dry Thor Honda Racing 14
8. Jay MARMONT – CDR Rockstar Yamaha 13
9. Daniel REARDON – JDR Motorex KTM 11
10. Jake MOSS – CDR Rockstar Yamaha 12

Pro Lites Standings:
1. Matt MOSS – JDR Motorex KTM 25
2. Luke STYKE – Serco Yamaha 22
3. Brendan HARRISON – JDR Motorex KTM 20
4. Josh CACHIA – JDR Motorex KTM 18
5. Dean FERRIS – Monster Energy Kawasaki 16
6. Steven CLARKE – Team Motul Pirelli Suzuki 15
7. Adam MONEA – Team 07 Axis Motorsport 14
8. Kirk GIBBS – Serco Yamaha 13
9. Robbie MARSHALL – Yamaha 12
10. Casey TURNER – Suzuki 11

Under 19s Standings:
1. Errol WILLIS – Raceline Pirelli Suzuki 25
2. Joey SAVAGTY – Raceline Pirelli Suzuki 22
3. Matthew PHILLIPS – Ballards Offroad Yamaha 20
4. Corey LUCAS – Hart & Huntington, ONE Industries, Ringmaster, Novik, Torc 1 18
5. Geran STAPLETON – Thor Honda Smart, Breese High Performance, Dragon, 2112, BLS 16
6. Jake WILLIAMS – WPS, ECM,J-Design, Hart & Huntington 15
7. Jay WILSON – Coastal KTM, Avanti, Motorex 14
8. Tristen CACHIA – Coastal KTM, Advanti Motorex KTM, Hart & Huntington 13
9. Jarrad DAVIS – Fox, Dunlop, Motul, Davis Bikeworx, Alpinestar 12
10. Kale MAKEHAM – The Collective, JDR Moss Institute Suzuki, EBT, Thor, One World 11

Wollongong WIN Stadium Track Map

Ticket Purchase

Click here to purchase tickets online

Venue Location and Parking

WIN Stadium
Harbour Street
Wollongong, NSW

The WIN Sports & Entertainment Centre is located on the corner of Harbour and Crown Streets, Wollongong. The Wollongong train station is a 10 to 15 minute walk from the venue. Some local buses stop and pick up from the Harbour Street side of the venue.

Round Two Schedule


Race Format

Pro Open – Survival
This is the toughest format of them all! It’s an eliminator format, where we start with 20 riders. The riders race four x five-lap races with four minutes in between each. The last five drop off each time, leaving five for the final stage. Riders are allocated their points at the time they are eliminated.

Pro Lites – Triple Header
The Lites will race over three x six laps, back-to-back with four minutes in between.

Television Guide

All events to be broadcast on SPEED one week delayed (no live television in 2011).

These are the times that the Wollongong round will be aired:
Friday, 4 November at 7.30pm
Saturday, 5 November at 3.30am (repeat)
Saturday, 5 November at 4.30pm (repeat)

MotoOnline.com.au Social Networking



MotoOnline.com.au Super X Fantasy League

Click here to enter

Series Calendar

Do you have an opinion to share on this story? Be sure to sign up to MotoOnline.com.au’s iMoto Community and have your say below today!