Features 21 Oct 2011

2011 Super X Rd1 Melbourne Preview

MotoOnline.com.au previews this weekend’s Super X season opener in Victoria.

MotoOnline.com.au previews this weekend’s Super X season opener in Victoria.

This Saturday night marks the opening round of the 2011 Monster Energy Super X, Australasian Supercross Championship, at Melbourne Knights Stadium in Victoria.

With the series’ most recent champions Josh Hansen and PJ Larsen absent for the season ahead, this year will see two brand new champions crowned in the Pro Open and Pro Lites categories.

Add in the rising starts of the sport contesting the Under 19s and Junior Development categories, and Super X this year has the recipe to be one of the most entertaining on record.

Here’s MotoOnline.com.au’s opening round preview, including the teams, riders, track map and detailed schedule of the proceedings for Saturday, 22 October.

Factory Teams and Riders

Monster Energy Kawasaki
Billy Mackenzie – Pro Open
Dean Ferris – Pro Lites

CDR Rockstar Energy Yamaha
Jay Marmont – Pro Open
Jake Moss – Pro Open

Serco Yoshimura Yamaha
Kirk Gibbs – Pro Lites
Luke Styke – Pro Lites

Motul Pirelli Suzuki
Daniel McCoy – Pro Open
Steven Clarke – Pro Lites

JDR Motorex KTM
Tye Simmonds – Pro Open 450
Ryan Marmont – Pro Open 350
Dan Reardon – Pro Open 450
Matt Moss – Pro Lites
Brenden Harrison – Pro Lites
Josh Cachia – Pro Lites

Carlton Dry Honda Thor Racing
Cheyne Boyd – Pro Open
Todd Waters – Pro Open
Gavin Faith – Pro Lites

Satellite Teams and Riders

Raceline Pirelli Suzuki
Lawson Bopping – Pro Open
Errol Willis – Under 19s
Joey Savatgy – Under 19s

Team 07 Axis Motorsports Honda
Cody Mackie – Pro Open
Kieran Hall – Pro Lites
Adam Monea – Pro Lites

Berry Sweet Strawberries/Lucas Oil Honda Racing
Craig Anderson – Pro Open
Gordon Crockard – Pro Open (selected rounds)
Kade Mosig – Pro Lites (injured)
Austin Politelli – Pro Lites

GYTR Rockstar Energy Drink Yamaha
Luke Arbon – Pro Lites
Shaun Redhead – Under 19s (injured)
Sam Dancanson – Under 19s

Coastal KTM
Robbie Marshall – Pro Lites
Jay Wilson – Under 19s
Tristen Cachia – Under 19s

Top Gear KTM
Lewis Woods – Pro Open

Melbourne Knights Stadium Track Map

Ticket Purchase

Click here to purchase tickets online

Venue Location and Parking

Knights Soccer Stadium
Somers Street
Sunshine North, VIC 3020

  • Public Transport – Best form of public transport to the venue is via train to Footscray station, Sydenham, Werribee and Williamstown lines provide trains from the city that travel through Footscray Station. Shuttle buses will then be operating from Footscray Station to the venue between 2.00pm – 6.00pm and then at the conclusion of the event back to the station. The shuttle bus will cost $4 each way from Footscray Station to the event. These will be able to be purchased as boarding the bus. To help plan your trip go to www. metlinkmelbourne.com.au.
  • Parking – There is a limited number of public car parks at the venue at a cost of $10. Entry for this is via Somers Street.

Round One Schedule

(gates open to public at 3.30pm)

Race Format

Double Header (Pro Open and Pro Lites):

The Super X Open class will race over two x 10 lap races in the main event, back-to-back with four minutes in between.

The Lites will race over two x eight laps, back-to-back with four minutes in between.

Television Guide

All events to be broadcast on SPEED one week delayed (no live television in 2011).

These are the times that the Melbourne round will be aired:
Friday, 28 October at 7.30pm
Saturday, 29 October at 3.30am (repeat)
Saturday, 29 October at 1.00pm (repeat)
Tuesday, 1 November at 2.30pm (repeat)

MotoOnline.com.au Social Networking



MotoOnline.com.au Super X Fantasy League

Click here to enter

Series Calendar

Do you have an opinion to share on this story? Be sure to sign up to MotoOnline.com.au’s iMoto Community and have your say below today!