News 17 Jan 2011

Holder begins Aussie Speedway title defence with a victory

Chris Holder’s Australian Solo Speedway Championship defence got off to a flying start, winning the opening round of the 2011 series in Kurri Kurri on Saturday night.

The reigning Australian champion was once again the stand out performer in the opening round of the series, claiming victory in four of five heats before going on to win the A Final in stunning fashion.

Holder never looked flustered as he claimed victory in his first four heats before fellow Poole Pirates teammate Davey Watt got the better of him in the fifth and final heat.

For Watt it was a break out night in Kurri Kurri as he amassed the second highest points tally through the heats before claiming second in the A Final.

In contrast it was a night to forget for three-time Australian Under 21 Solo Speedway Champion Darcy Ward, who was forced to retire while leading his first heat of the night.

Ward recovered to win his remaining four heats, but the retirement saw him miss out on a spot in the A final behind Holder, Watt, Jason Doyle and Cory Gathercole.

After finishing third in the A Final, Doyle managed to record a win over Ward in the B Final compounding the world champion’s woes.

2011 Australian Speedway Championship
Round One – Kurri Kurri, NSW

A Final Results
1. Chris Holder
2. Davey Watt
3. Jason Doyle
4. Cory Gathercole